summer knitting

Let’s get this clear straight away: I’m not a fan of knitted summer items, such as knitted strapless tops, knitted skirts, knitted bathing suits… For me, knitwear, even if it is in a light and cool material, implies warmth. So I stick to non-knitted tank tops, skirts, dresses, etc. in the summer. That doesn’t mean, however, that there is no room for knitting in the summer! I don’t mind working away at any project during the heat, and last summer I knit on every single day of my coastal vacation. Call it addiction. ;) And there is one other thing – every once in a while, there will be that fresh evening breeze. Or that cool rainy day. The perfect opportunity to snuggle up in that one soft cardigan you slipped to the very bottom of your suitcase, just in case. While I adore summers, I have spent too many of them in 40-degrees-Celsius heats to not appreciate those rare occasions of cooler air. And since I am spending this summer in a much ‘milder’ climate, I can expect more of those cool days. So, does it make sense now that my idea of knitting for the summer is – cardigans?

Here are a few of my favorite cardigan patterns in different styles. Each is simple yet special, and each would look lovely with a nice summer dress or jeans. Cardigans are great – they go with everything!

I talk about Ysolda and her designs way too much, but in any cardigan roundup, there is no way her Coraline can be skipped! I love this style of cardigan, with just a few buttons (or a nice clasp) at the very top, it looks so girly and dreamy – and it’s perfect for dresses.

Then there’s Slippedstitch’s Brompton. It’s a more classical design, buttoned all the way down, but with some interesting edging features and super long sleeves, perfect for snuggling up with a book. You know you want to… ;)

If you’re in for something that looks kind of summery as well, have a look at Ruthie Nussbaum’s Minimalist Cardigan. The 3/4 sleeves and no buttons make it perfect to just throw on over something as you’re leaving the house. This is probably my favorite style of cardigan, I can never get enough of them. There are some photos on Ravelry showing it styled with jeans and a casual t-shirt, and it looks brilliant!

Finally, a cardigan I’e been meaning to make forever. I first fell in love with its name, and then with the cardigan istelf. Mary Weaver’s Mrs Darcy is closed only at the bottom and has some really nice waist-shaping thrown in. This can be very useful for dresses cut just below the breasts, which, let’s face it, sometimes make you look pregnant. With a cardigan like Mrs Darcy you can give them a nicer shape if you don’t feel like facing the quizzical looks on a certain day… ;)

There we go, that was my little selection of items I would like to have for the summer! At the moment I’m constantly wearing my cheap store-bought mustard-yellow cardigan, washing it every few days to make sure it doesn’t start smelling… It just makes everything looks interesting, and it makes me feel all warm and protected – just like the perfect summer cardigan should!

Click on images to go to image source!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

12 thoughts on “summer knitting

  1. I love all of those cardis! I’ve got Mrs Darcy and the Minimalist Cardi in my Rav queue. I’m making Manu by Kate Davies, although it’s hibernating – I can’t face the next stage which is miles of applied i-cord.

    • Nice choice! Kate IS crazy about I-cord, and I like how she makes it look, but I have to say my I-cord attempts have so far been only passable. So I’ll save Manu for a bit later… :)

  2. Ohhh, all of them are sooo beautiful. I’ve got Mrs Darcy in my Ravelry favourites even though I’m not the right shape for it :) Thanks for linking to the patterns.

    I have the same problem with summer knitwear. Here, it is just too hot for it. They look lovely on some Norwegian beach, where you can see models wearing long-sleeved sweaters (knit in quite bulky cotton) and shorts. So far, we’ve never had the weather for such combinations.

    • You’re thinking of DROPS patterns, aren’t you? Yeeeah, I love them too… I have to say though, from my experience of the Norwegian summer last year – you are more likely to need woolen sweaters than cotton ones! I spent the whole summer wearing pretty much all the clothes I had brought with me in five layers and being eternally cold… :P

  3. You have succesfully made me queue Mrs Darcy :) well done! I rarely queue things cause I want to make sure that I will knit every single one of my queued items one day. And I really want to make this one (already queued Coraline, just need to buy the pattern/yarn)

    • Yay! Unfortunately since I’ve queued it (a long time ago) this has happened: “This pattern is no longer available as a newly reworked, multi-sized version is set to be published in an upcoming book. Stay tuned for more info!” But it might be for the better, cause I think some people were having trouble with the pattern, and this way it will be reworked well – I can’t wait to see it when it is published!

    • I’m working on a huge seed-stitch scarf right now, so I think by the time I’m done with it I’ll be a seed-stitch expert, then I can whip out the Minimalist in no time! ;)

  4. I’ve had the Coraline in my queue for ages. I haven’t knit anything in awhile, but I’m thinking that cardigan would be the perfect project to start for the summer.

    I made the Minimalist Cardigan and I love it. It was really simple to construct (although I hated seaming at the end) and I get a lot of wear out of it. I’m thinking of making another one to keep at the office.

    • Oh, you’re so right, such cardis are also perfect for the office! I always have one around, cause I tend to feel cold when others are pumping up the AC…

  5. Pingback: a pattern, a swatch, a decision « fridica

  6. Hahhah – we have such similar taste! I almost put Mrs. Darcy on my list, but the pattern is no longer available. I think I might have it stashed in my old computer archives somewhere!

Leave a Reply

