what I’ll be doing this weekend

Oh, probably just… rewinding every single skein of yarn I ever bought! :)))

Oh yeah, Momma’s got a new toy! :) I’d been weighing the pros and cons of this baby for a few months now, looking at different online shops, investigating shipping policies, figuring out import taxes, getting annoyed with credit card issues… And then I just pop into a yarn shop today to buy a pair of sock needles and see this sitting right there on the shelf! It was not cheap, but it also wasn’t more expensive than what it would’ve cost me to get online + shipping, so when I calculated in the risk of potential import tax AND the fact that I could have it right now as opposed to waiting some more, the decision was made. This is treats week indeed. :)

There are limits to my treats spending, though, so no swift buying plans for the foreseeable future. I had spoken about this to the yarn shop owner where I bought the Malabrigo yesterday (not the same place as where I bought the winder today) and she tried to convince me that a swift was absolutely necessary. I disagree, actually.

This worked just fine. :)

Happy weekend everyone. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

35 thoughts on “what I’ll be doing this weekend

  1. Oh my life, it took me FOREVER to find a yarn winder – shops here just don’t seem to stock them! I got mine on eBay in the end. And I don’t bother with a swift either – I just chase the skein round the room :D

    • Chase it? :D I have to admit I did try another method, with me holding the yarn in my hands (old school style) and another person turning the winder handle, but we got into a tangle very quickly. The chairs worked splendidly, though :)

  2. I remember when I bought my ball winder. It was like magic. I didn’t know winding yarn could be so enjoyable. If you think the chairs are good, just wait ’til you have a swift. You won’t know why you thought you could live without one.

  3. Hahaha, you girls are really insistent on the swift :) I’m really ok with not having one. I have used them with ball winders in yarn shops before, and it is quite nice, but I don’t find this method to be much harder… I might try to make a cheap DIY one, that could be fun :)

  4. You are lucky to have chairs with nice rounded legs and without snags. I’m not so lucky. Though my Dad made me a swift, which solved that problem. But if you have an alternative that works you don’t need one.

  5. I have a swift that my sister bought me and it is quite wonderful. I don’t think I would have ever splurged on one for myself. and then I bought the yarn winder a few years later. and they are great together like ice cream with chocolate sauce or pancakes with real maple syrup or …….well i could go on but I think you get it they are great on their own but once you pair them together they are spectacular!!!!!
    even my husband who isn’t too impressed with yarny tools marvels when ever I put out the equipment and start to turn skeins into balls.
    I would look into some of the tutorials on making your own too – there are some very nice ones out there.

  6. I think it goes much faster with a swift – the only speed limit there is how fast you can turn the handle on the ball winder (and I’m pretty fast now after years of practice…;)). But then I guess it’s a matter of what kind of chairs you have whether the chair version will be just as fast…

  7. A ball winder is such a wonderful thing to have, isn’t it?! Looks to me like the “swift” you already have set up is perfectly serviceable, but should you decide to go the DIY swift route, there are tons of cool tutorials out there. One I remember seeing involves an inexpensive lazy susan from Ikea. Enjoy your nice neat rewound yarn!

  8. Now that I have a swift and winder, I think I would’ve been okay with a swift only. Something that holds the yarn while I wind? Magic! But to each their own – and yay! Have a happy weekend. :)

  9. Fridica I have a ball winder and I love it too! I helps me keep all my yarn nice and organize, but I don’t have a swift I use chairs too and they work perfectly fine or sometimes my husband lets me borrow his arms! hihihihi

    • Yaaay! :) I tried using my boyfriend’s hands but it didn’t work out too well. I ended up spending 10 minutes untangling the mess he had made, so I think I’ll stick with chairs :D

  10. Cool! New toys are so exciting! That one looks like fun!

    And yeah, I just used a chair back and it worked great. Mine is 37″ all the way around so I can even keep track of basically how many yards of handspun I have.

  11. I have a swift, and 9 times out of 10, I’m too lazy to set the thing up. You’ll be quite alright without one. But hooray for a ball winder! There is something extremely satisfying about a freshly-wound yarn cake.

  12. You should get a swift too… can’t you say it’s an advance on a treat? I love the combination of swift and winder ;)

    But in any case congratulations on your new toy, I’m sure you’ll have fun together ;)

    • Despite what is appearing to be (from these comments) common agreement on their awesomeness, for me personally swifts fall into the unnecessary luxury category. I’m really not even tempted by one. I’d rather spend that money on yarn. :)

  13. I have just got a swift and it really is my new best toy – however the ball winder would be the icing on the cake – I would love one.

  14. It’s very tempting to wind every single skein of yarn in your possession into a cake isn’t it! I did hear somewhere that it’s best to leave them in skeins until you want to use the yarn – so it doesn’t stretch out of shape. I suppose that’s only/mainly? of importance if it is delicate yarn. I don’t know how true it is on a general basis.
    Enjoy!
    PS: I just love being able to knit from a centre-pull cake, so much more tidy! Just make sure to keep the tension constant when winding or some yarn might tangle when pulled from the centre.

    • Haha, that’s awesome! I’m “fridica” on Ravelry too, if you follow the button on my blog it should take you straight to my profile… :) Nice to meet you! :)

Leave a Reply

