fall 2011

Have you seen Brooklyn Tweed’s Wool People? I am absolutely in love.

The feather and fan pattern has been on my mind a lot lately, so you can imagine my delight when I saw the Levenwick pattern in the collection.

Feather and fan meets Russian collar! Gudrun must have a direct connection to the land of my dreams.

And then, a colourwork hat in worsted weight.

Just what I needed to practice my colourwork a bit. Thank you, knitting gods. (And Alexis Winslow.)

So that’s my fall 2011 favourites for now. How about you? What’s making you itch for the first signs of fall this year? :)

All photos copyright Brooklyn Tweed and linked back to it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

23 thoughts on “fall 2011

  1. The hat leaves me more or less indifferent, but that cardigan is divine! I’m curious to see what yarn you’ll choose for it. As for my plans for the fall, I haven’t made any specific plans for the fall but I’ve got some lace yarn waiting in line :)

  2. Love Wool People!
    A few weeks ago I didn’t know what I was going to knit this Fall. Now I have a queue that is overflowing and not enough hands!

    • I´d consider such a statement blasphemy as well, but in Brussels it IS fall already, and I´ve wept my tears for the summer a long time ago… ;)

  3. Lovely pattern – what colour are you planning? I have so many ideas in my head – i couldn’t sleep last night for thinking about them – need to do a bit more orgnising – the stash is not going down………

  4. wow, I think I even have some yarn very similar to this. Absolutely LOVE this cardi, but I’m waiting to see how yours turns out :)

    • Oh haha, then you might only be making it in fall…. 2014? :D I´m not famous for finishing sweaters quickly (come to think of it, I´m not famous for finishing sweaters fullstop. :D)

  5. I want pretty much every pattern in Wool People. I wish they would release it as a book!

    I started Levenwick the day Wool People was released…and restarted it last week because it was turning out waaaay too big. It stole my heart.

  6. Can I be honest? I so did not love Wool People. I haven’t loved anything that’s come out for 2011 Autumn/Winter. There’s one scarf I’ll probably do, but that’s it. I think I’ve become uninspirable.

    • I’m sorry to hear that… But if you’re anything like me, your queue is probably full of stuff to knit from previous autumn/winters, so it I hope it shouldn’t lead to not-knitting! :)

Leave a comment