the bits

On so many Ravelry project pages will you find variations of the following two sentences:

Almost done, just have to make myself weave in all the ends…

&

I couldn’t be bothered to do a gauge swatch so the size is off.

That’s right, it seems the two most odious activities that unavoidably accompany knitting are the very beginning and the very ending: checking gauge and weaving in ends. I experience them as much as the next person. Just today I finally decided to weave in the ends on Veyla mitts – the tiny little things had six ends to weave in each! I had finished them about ten days ago and just couldn’t force myself to get on with it. And guess what? It was done extremely quickly. After all the postponing, I am always shocked at how little time and effort it really requires, even if there are six ends to weave in on a single mitt. It’s kind of like going to the dentist: I always get somewhat scared and uncomfortable just before I’m supposed to go, and start looking for excuses not to do it. But on several occasions I have written down in my diary after going: Don’t be scared next time! It was a piece of cake!

Consider how much time it really takes you to make a gauge swatch (which is usually not more than 20 rows of 20 stitches). Weigh that against the anxiety of working through an entire project (even if it is just a hat, it takes much longer) and the frustration at realizing in the end that it is too small. Consider how difficult it really is to weave in ends (my 12 ends on a tiny project took no longer than 10-15 mins). Weigh that against that nagging voice you have in your head when you know that the project is almost done and the satisfaction of clicking finished on Ravelry. You’ll probably realize these activities require just tiny bits of time and effort. I’ll certainly try to next time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

6 thoughts on “the bits

  1. WIP finishing
    I know exactly what you mean! I used to leave otherwise finished projects lying around for months (if not longer…), when I had managed to knit them in a few weeks. Very frustrating. The whole thing of weaving in ends, inserting elastic etc etc, it just ‘felt’ like such a LOT of work!
    I’ve discovered a way of getting all that done when it’s still bearable: I try to weave in ends as I go – while I’m still riding high on the crest of my crafting enthusiasm (so to speak) well before I finish the actual knitting part. Absolutely astonishing how quickly and easily things can work! It’s also got advantages – e.g. if you are making a skirt and put the elastic in pretty early, then you can try it on to see if it’ll fit or not. Very, very useful. I can only recommend it.
    And there is really nothing better than knowing you’ve only got the one very last end to weave in just as soon as you’re finished, and once that’s done, you’re really, truly and complete finished! A fantastic feeling: I’m having so much more fun finishing crafts projects!

    • Re: WIP finishing
      Yeah, I’ve seen that recommendation in several places and it really makes sense! Especially on a big project like a sweater! I guess I should have mentioned what I dread much more than weaving in ends, though – and that is sewing up. I tend to do seamless projects because I am just dreadful and putting pieces together. I have a baby sweater that has been all finished and blocked for a month and I just can’t make myself put it together. If you have any advice on motivating myself (or practicing) for that, I’ll be more than happy to take it!

  2. Ja štreberski provjeravam gauge, pogotovo otkako pletem krojeno, prije dok sam plela vrećasto, nije bilo toliko važno raditi probni uzorak. Što se pak ušivanja krajeva tiče, toga sam se riješila jer ne spajam krajeve vune u čvor, već to radim feltanjem niti, preporodila sam se otkako sam počela primjenjivati tu tehniku. Prije sam uvijek ostavljala početak niti na poletku r eda, jer ako išta mrzim to je spajanje niti usred pletiva.

  3. Pingback: beauty | Latest News India | Education News | Technology News | Entertainment News | Business News | Sports News

Leave a Reply

