Pajunkissa

I am still mesmerized by this hat’s beautiful name. I just looked it up, and it appears to mean “catkin”. Then I had to look up catkin. :) Wikipedia says it’s a cylindrical flower cluster (and shows some nice pictures, though I can only barely relate them to the pattern).

The original pattern was created by Memmu for Ulla, a Finnish online knitting magazine made by Finnish knitters for Finnish knitters, if I understand correctly.

However, I fell in love with it when I saw Handepande’s version: take a look here and try to resist the urge to cast on immediately! My hat was based on Handepande’s modifications to the original pattern, which were essentially just a change in gauge. You’ll find them on the project Ravelry page.

I personally cast on after I offered to knit a hat for a friend and she chose this pattern, based on seeing the photo of Handepande’s project. There was even a “Scandinavian connection” since I started working on the hat while in Norway last summer. During the class presentations at my summer course, I would sit back and knit away, listening to the presenters. My (about to retire) professor Jan couldn’t help but recall the ’60s, when apparently it was quite usual for his female students to knit in class. The story as he told it to us took an interesting turn, however, when the male students also decided to take up this hobby. The females were apparently offended and in protest stopped knitting in class altogether. :)

Unfortunately, the version I knit up during my classes had to be frogged – this was the first onslaught of the transfer of my usual perfectionism into knitting as well. I had simply gotten the needle size wrong, the hat came out too big, the stitches were ugly, and I just couldn’t live with giving it away in such a state. Frogged and knit again later that summer, back home. This time to my utter satisfaction. :) The pattern is super-easy and fast. And of course I made another one shortly – remember it? :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

2 thoughts on “Pajunkissa

  1. I’ve just discovered your blog and I’m sure I’m going to enjoy reading it :) Love the hat and the colour. As for knitting in class, I was really amazed – I wish it was as customary here as it is in Norway.

Leave a Reply

