saturday morning

It’s been a while since I’ve had a proper Saturday morning, you know, one of those that you spend at the local cafe with someone you feel comfortable seeing you bleary-eyed and with uncombed hair. I had one today and it made me very very (very) happy! :)

I thought it would be a good opportunity to share with you what I think is my most cheerful project so far! The pattern is Lychee Mittens by Kate Gagnon Osborn of Kelbourne Wollens. I love Kate’s patterns. And they’re free!

I’ve been meaning to make more mittens (and I plan a post on the patterns that are intriguing me the most at the moment – look out for it soon), actually I have two pairs almost finished (they are missing buttons and blocking), so I hope I’ll be able to show you more soon! For now, this pair is Ravelled here.

Mittens are great fun to photograph! So much that I photographed these before they were finished. ;) They turned out a bit too small for me so my niece got them – and she loved them!

What makes these especially dear to my heart is that they’re made from the leftover yarn from my first very own scarf and my first hat, which was made for my best friend in the whole wide world. It’s only appropriate that the two resulted in an item that always makes me smile – just like any combination of the two of us does. :)

I hope your Saturday is cheerful and silly! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

One thought on “saturday morning

  1. It’s been a while for me too otkad sam zadnji put subotu provela s nekim bleary-eyed u obližnjem (ili malo manje obližnjem, al votevr) kafiću. Nemam s kim, that’s the thing, nije da inače nisam subotom ujutro krmeljava i nepočešljana. :D Tako je subota bila dosadna, a nedjelja danas je naprosto katastrofa x_0 Nešto me škaklje u nosu pa kišem stalno, glava me boli pa sam odspavala popodne u nadi da će me proć al me samo nakon toga još više bolila, osim toga mi je pozlilo od malo čokolade (od čokolade! life’s so unfair), al mislim da je to ustvari zato jer sam prije toga popila puno kave na prazan želudac (:D), plus mi šteka tipka č na tipkovnici. To je još najgore od svega. :D:D Hope you’re having a nice day, miss you, bebeh :)) :*

Leave a Reply

