what a difference a yarn makes

Same pattern, different yarn. This time I used a fingering weight yarn, as opposed to the Aran weight recommended in the pattern. To compensate for this, I added one pattern repeat.

I’m quite proud of the fact that I modified this to knit in the round myself. It involved some advanced knitting math (well, it seemed advanced to me, it’s been too long since I’ve done any serious math, and by serious I mean anything more than adding things up on a calculator), and the pattern I wrote out is definitely too complicated to be reproduced anywhere, but I understand how it works and that’s all I need! :)

This pattern isn’t particularly exciting or interesting to knit, but the results are just so yummy, I keep going back to it…

I’ve already written about how it sometimes surprizes me which of my projects get the most ‘hearts’ on Ravelry, and this was definitely one of them – it seems that it has gone by completely unnoticed. It doesn’t affect how much I love it (and I really do), I just find it interesting how my order of preference for my projects seems to differ from other people’s opinions. Or how flukes influence the whole thing: I am suspecting that one of the reasons it went by unnoticed was the fact that I uploaded the photos and shared them with a bunch of groups for five projects at the same time. This one came first, so in the display of recent projects shared it was pushed to the bottom. I am guessing this might have influenced it. Online ‘marketing’ works in such interesting ways, since I do have wild dreams about possibly one day becoming an Etsy seller (a long long way away in the hypothetical future), I’m glad I get to learn about it through such a painless experience as this. :)

If you fancy showing this white babe some love, here’s the project page. I hope you have a scrumptious Tuesday! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

2 thoughts on “what a difference a yarn makes

  1. I’ve had similar experiences with faves on Ravelry. In this case I think colour is the key thing. White is easily overlooked whereas a vibrant colour like that of the other hat catches your eye instantly.

Leave a Reply

