pay attention

WordPress wasn’t working for a bit tonight – I realized it was back up two minutes before midnight and attempted a mad race against time to get a post in before the next day… Well, it doesn’t really matter.

Today I knit for about an hour at school. The one thing I really miss about this campus is that there are simply no comfortable nooks to settle yourself in and read or knit or just relax. I am a nook-addict and it’s hard for me, so I dislike staying on campus in breaks between classes. Lately it’s been too miserable outside to wander around, though, so I’ve been trying to create nooks for myself, even if they are not naturally there. I found a spot today and at first I was kind of uncomfortable taking out my needles, but after about 15 minutes I had gotten into the rhythm and to that place in my head when I really didn’t want to stop knitting for a long time. I was actually late for my class in the end! (Just another row, oh just one more, there’s still time… You know the drill! ;)

This is unrelated, but when I got home and headed towards the shower, I realized one of the tiles in the shower was a different color than the rest (they are all white, this one is dark beige). I was shocked! If maintenance had been here, they would have left a note, and anyway, why would they just randomly replace one tile? Has it really been there for 5 months without me noticing it?! Some things in our everyday lives really go by unnoticed… The event reminded me of this wonderful scene of tiles on a building in Lisbon, so I thought I’d share that with you as the illustration for today’s post. Of all the photos I have taken in my life, this one is definitely one of my top favorites.

“If we find some in the same color, maybe no one will notice…”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

One thought on “pay attention

Leave a Reply

