grass

As the sunshine is slowly returning, my thoughts keep going only in one direction, something I have been dreaming of all winter: using up any little patch of grass I can find in this beautiful city for sitting, lying, napping, knitting, reading, studying, sunbathing, smiling…

Made for: Mina, in India

Pattern: Madyson by Katya Frankel

Material: Garnstudio DROPS Silke Alpaca, dark purple

Ravelled: here

I never took proper photos. And, as things go, I never got photos of the recipient wearing it. Actually, in this case, I never got any feedback from the recipient whatsoever! (One of my classmates at a summer school asked me to make it for his girlfriend, I made it before the summer school ended and he took it home with him. We haven’t kept in touch much since, and when I tried asking him about it, I never got a response.) Wherever Blueberry Girl is now, I hope she’s in good hands and she’s making someone happy…

I named it after Neil Gaiman’s wonderful picture-book Blueberry Girl. The poetry is sweet and magic, and the illustrations match it perfectly. You can’t go wrong with it, whether your intended recipient is a girl or a mother-to-be. I want it for myself! :)

It was also my first attempt at a ‘label’. Blush.

Oh but I stray! What I really wanted to do was ask you – what’s your favorite thing to do on the grass? :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

4 thoughts on “grass

    • Yeah, but I guess that’s life… Not everyone appreciates the effort you put in for them. Luckily I have plenty of people around me who really sincerely appreciate it when I knit them something, and those are the ones that count ;)))

  1. well, dear, don’t worry a lot about non responce, it’s the life, the frenchman usually say, you are gifted with the second one, you have mentioned. The grass, is for…… playing with my Lea, and looking her trying to catch all what is flying around her, but as usually she is so slowly and fat after a long winter. Yes, the Internet can’t be as shopping in so nice, tiny and full shops….
    Loredana

Leave a Reply

