crazy for mitts: multi-colored fingerless

A new addition to my morning blog-reading routine: I am now doing it in my newly-finished and blocked Veylas! It’s kind of silly to be wearing fingerless mitts in my bedroom (it’s certainly not necessary to keep warm), but I just took them off the blocking board (um, spongy armchair) this morning and I am so pleased with them! Photos to come soon. In the meantime, I have a little showcase for you here. After knitting Veylas, I realized how fun mitts were! So I went and explored more patterns, and I put together a top list of my favorites. I thought I’d present them to you in a small series. Here come the first four!

Wintry Mix Mitts

These are just a must-have for the holiday season! They haven’t had too many hits on Ravelry yet, but those that were made look awesome and I am predicting they are going to be all the rage come next December! I’ll certainly be trying my hand at them! Designed by one of my absolute favorites, Kathryn Ivy.

Endpaper Mitts

Endpaper Mitts are one of the most popular patterns on Ravelry, almost 3000 projects! I’m not sure why Eunny Jang doesn’t keep an active website for them, but you can find the pattern on this archived one. I snagged the photo from Yarnmonster’s cheerful version!

Little Gems Mitts

From the queen of knitting-related publishing, Interweave, these little gems. I simply love them, and I think they offer great opportunities for playing with different colors! They also look rather simple, while some of the other patterns scare me a little!

Rose

And these send me straight to my childhood! I think we used to have a blanket with a similar rose pattern… I would love to make such an evocative pair of mitts. Don’t be scared off by the website in Swedish, the pattern is in English! And you can always look on Ravelry for color inspiration…

I think this series will have at least four more episodes… Here’s hoping you stay tuned! And do share some of your favorites, there are so many patterns out there and it’s so easy to miss them…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

5 thoughts on “crazy for mitts: multi-colored fingerless

  1. Thank you so much for featuring our pattern! I love the other mitts you picked too and I added the Rose mitts to my queue. Thanks! :)

  2. Jako mi je lijep uzorak na ovim crveno-žutima, makar ja preferiram ovakve ko što su na trećoj slici, s prstićima, te su mi puno ljepše…

Leave a Reply

