crazy for mitts: paintings

Here is the final installment in the series of patterns for multi-colored mitts. (Later on, we’ll be continuing the series with single-color mitts, where texture, cabling and the likes replace different colors in creating interest.) Before we go on, I’d like to emphasize that these are not mittens I have knit, they are only patterns that I wish and hope to knit in the foreseeable future. I say this because I’ve been getting compliments in the vein of “I love your work, especially your mitts” from casual readers, which made me realize that for someone who was just glancing through the blog and not paying too much attention (which is completely fine, nothing against such visitors :)), these last few posts might give the impression that I was showcasing my own work, so I just wanted to set the record straight on that. That said, I do hope that over the next months I will be able to show you these same patterns in my own versions! :)  

Bird in Hand

Today I would like to show you four mitten patterns that are so wonderfully worked out and detailed that to me they look like paintings rather than patterns. I think a pair of mittens like these would really make an extroadinary gift that would be cherished for a long time. Just look at how effortlessly this plant grows on Kate Gilbert’s Bird in Hand… And on the bottom side, you get a simpler pattern with a little bit of variation – I’m sure this helps with resting a bit from all the counting  that would be required on the top side of the mitten, but it also makes for an even more interesting mitten overall. I think smaller items like mittens are perfect for such intricacy because the sheer size makes  the challenge look more achieveable!

Citrus

On to more playful stuff! I am a huge child and I rarely even bother hiding it. I am also a gigantic fan of lemons! Citrus is thus the perfect combination for me. Look at how well worked out the pattern is – there is even the symmetry between the right and left mitten. The bottom side is again a simpler pattern, and the corrugated rib gives it that extra special something. If you haven’t had experience with corrugated rib yet, trust me, once you get the hang of it – it’s addictive!

Paradoxical Mittens

Continuing in a similar vein of variations on a relatively simple shape, we have the Paradoxical Mittens, for the lovers of modern art among us! ;) You have to be comfortable with stranded knitting for these, but you could also practice on them! When I first had to do stranded knitting, it took me a while to get the hang of it (I’ve probably lost it in the meantime), but it was truly satisfying… Just think of all the praise you’ll get! And I really appreciate knitwear items that push the limits of traditional flowery-snowflakey patterns, there are fewer out there than you’d expect!

Deep in the Forest

And finally, a pair of mittens that is truly a painting, and a wonderful one. Deep in the Forest are haunting, beautiful, evocative, and unique. I can’t admire them enough, and I can’t even find the words to describe them. Just look at them for a few minutes. Wow!

I’ll leave you with that. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend with lots of beauty and creativity. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

4 thoughts on “crazy for mitts: paintings

Leave a Reply

