boohoo

Just as I was getting really excited about my progress on Owlet, this is what happened!

These are KnitPicks interchangeables, and the wooden part got simply separated from the metal one! Really?! I bought them last summer, and they have been used very little. I’m quite disappointed.

I’m guessing a little super glue will do the trick, but I was really put off the whole KnitPicks series by this. I’ll be continuing the project with Addi needles, which I picked up at the store today. I’ve never worked with Addis so I’m curious! But I could’ve waited to find out in a less unfortunate way…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

8 thoughts on “boohoo

  1. I was quite intrigued by KnitPicks interchangeables and was on the brink of buying them. Thanks for sharing this. Let us know what you think of Addis.

    • I still think the interchangeable aspect of them is awesome, though! I should put some research into whether there are other interchangeable needles (metal ones) that don’t include the metal-to-wood connection.

      And to be fair, I also have a set of 3,5mm KnitPicks DPNs and they are perfect, especially for slippery yarns, because the yarn slips less on them.

  2. t’was nice to see you today. Such a shame your needle broke. If the superglueing doesn’t work I’m sure we can replace it.

    I love Addis though. It’s funny that they used to be regarded as the Rolls Royce of knitting needles but now others have risen up to become more desirable. I still think they’re the best, and the others are all just novelties and fads!

    • Yeah, I was surprized to see you working there! :) Dream job… :) I really ought to show up at the knitting group more often…
      I bought this one in Norway, though, so it wouldn’t be fair to ask a completely different shop (in a completely different country :D) to replace it. I’ll let you all know how the supergluing goes! :))

    • By the way, the Addis I bought yesterday – love them! So a good thing came out of the whole story! :)
      I bought the glue today so we’ll see how it goes :)

Leave a Reply

