crazy for mitts: squishy!

After a little break, we continue with our little series! This is the next to last installment, so I hope I’ve still got you interested! When I knit up Juniper Mitts (I know, I know, I still owe you photos!), my first reaction was “oooooh so squishy!” You can squeeze them like a sponge and they bounce back, and this also makes them extra comfy. After all, these things are going on your hands, you want them to be soft and comfortable or I’m guessing you won’t be wearing them too much! My best friend always teases me when we go ring shopping – one of the most important factors for me is that the ring is comfortable. It can be the prettiest thing in the world, but if it’s going to irritate me while I’m wearing it, that’s a deal breaker for me. I feel the same about mitts. So here are three high-squish-factor patterns! :)

Garter Stitch Mitts

They’re made in garter stitch – how much squishier than that can you get? And it’s an Ysolda pattern – how could I not love them? Oh, and did I mention the pattern is free? Check out the 868 Rav projects for color ideas…

#9 Buttoned Mitts

I’m not a fan of unnecessary buttons (I had bad experiences with them on a hat), but these look wonderful! They’re by Kirsten Kapur, and though it seems that they’re not online, it could be a good excuse to pick up a copy of KnitSimple… By the way, I do realize the photo is tiny: the one on Ravelry is slightly bigger.

Diamante

And finally, Diamante, self-published by Allegra Wermuth. While looking at Allegra’s profile, I also noticed that she is co-editor of Petite Purls, so if you are in search of baby/child patterns, go give it a look!

I think we’ll do our mitt-patterns wrap-up tomorrow, in the meantime – I hope you have a squishy day! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

4 thoughts on “crazy for mitts: squishy!

  1. Sve je ovo slatko, ali meni nikad jasno…. sta one greju, kad mi je u prstima najhladnije, a nikad u zglobu ?
    No dobro, mozda je to samo moda :)
    Jer stvarno su slatke :)

    • Pa ovako, meni su super za neko prijelazno vrijeme, proljetno, kad nije baš za rukavice prave, ali ipak ti je malo hladno za ruke. Neki ljudi ih nose i po zimi, recimo pušači ili fotografi, da im bar nešto grije a da istovremeno imaju slobodne prste. I konačno, kad sam bila tinejđerka stalno sam navlačila rukave svih majica prema dolje, moju mamu je to izluđivalo. E da je tad bilo ovakvih rukavičica… :)
      Naravno, po pravoj zimi trebaju prave rukavice :)

  2. You’re killing me with all these beautiful mittens! I’m determined to start my spring/summer projects and all I find myself thinking about is mittens, lol!

    BTW, fingerless mitts are also great for riding your bike in chilly spring or autumn weather, that’s when I use mine most often. You can use your fingers for the brake and the bell but the knuckles are still kept warm (or at least warmer than without them).

Leave a Reply

