crazy for mitts: misc

I love the word miscellaneous! If you looked into my email labels, my to-do lists, my organizing folders, you would always be guaranteed to find a misc somewhere in there… It’s just perfect for things that don’t fit into preconceived categories, such as this final round of mitt patterns that I want to show you. So, let’s go!

We start out with probably the simplest mitt pattern in the world.

Toast

Sometimes the best things are the simplest ones! Simplicity also allows you to show off your own creativity, or take advantage of a particularly beautiful yarn, or simply make your first steps into knitting! I love all the things people do with this pattern – take a look!

Fetching

Slightly more complex (but none the less popular!) are Fetching, published in one of the best sources of free patterns online – Knitty! Do I really need to say much more about the pattern that has fourteen thousand seven hundred and seven projects on Ravelry? :)

And finally, we make our way to the most complex!

Grove

I first saw Grove over at Joli House in a beautiful grey version and loved them immediately. They look pretty difficult, but I would love to attempt them, they’re just too pretty! It seems that the pattern is not available online, though. :( I don’t want to sound spoilt, but seriously, who doesn’t put their patterns for online sale any more? It seems to be quite common practice in the knitting community (and I love it). Well, one can always hope…

So that’s it, my dears! I loved doing this little series, and I hope you enjoyed it too! If you end up knitting any of these patterns, please send a photo. :) I will use these posts as a reminder for myself, and hopefully in the foreseeable future I will be showing you my own versions of the patterns! Maybe I should set it as a challenge to myself to knit every one of the patterns I’ve presented… :) Oooooh, so many things to knit, so little time…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

11 thoughts on “crazy for mitts: misc

  1. Moram prestati čitati tvoj blog. Dobivam neodoljivu želju da iskopam staru maminu knjigu o ručnom radu i krenem učiti plesti, uf. Pišeš o tome tako oduševljeno da sam uvjerena da je to jedna od najzabavnijih stvari na svijetu, i da naprosto moram probati. Ali nekako mi se čini da ja ne bih imala strpljenja za satima i danima raditi nešto takvo. I da bi onda na kraju vjerojatno ispalo skroz krivo. =D

  2. I’m sorry but you can’t have ANY photo of a model on some beach holding a plastic bottle!!! It totally ruins it for me. I like the last ones, and I like the rust color. How do you find all these patterns?!

    • I agree the photo is unfortunate. Especially the water bottle!
      I find almost all my patterns through Ravelry. It’s brilliant because there’s rarely a pattern there isn’t on there, and you can immediately see how it looks when other people make it. I have discounted many patterns after seeing how they look when ordinary people make them. Pattern photos can be very deceitful if they want to be. :)

  3. I meni se dopadaju ove Grove. Mozda ne bi bilo lose kontaktirati JF i ptati ga da li je raspolozen da i petterne iz te knjige ubaci pojedinacno u online store.

  4. Well dear, as always thanks for your brilliant post and the web where to find it. In Semptember I will have a lot of “problem” in choosing the suitable mits for me. A huge kiss from villa-loredana

Leave a Reply

