a (crafty) walk

A few days ago, a friend of mine invited me to go to this supposedly amazing 3-storey craft store with her. As you can imagine, it didn’t take a lot of arm-twisting for me to say yes! Since it was our day off, and it was sunny, we turned this into a proper little outing, to the point that her boyfriend started text messaging her to make sure we were alright! I didn’t take any photos at the store (which was, indeed, 3-storey-high and amazing), but I did pick up a few goodies from there. Some of them are secret, however, so I can’t show you them for now. But I would like to share with you our crafty itinerary and my subsequent wanderings around my own neighborhood.

First of all, I needed to get equipped for our walk! And you know that no walk is a proper walk without lovely mitts keeping your hands warm (but leaving your fingers free for photography). The new Veylas served the purpose perfectly.

Angel in London is such a wonderfully crafty area! In the same few blocks, there was the 3-storey-high Cass, this whacko fabric and haberdashery store (check out how much Michelle is cracking up!),

…and one of my favorite yarn shops in the whole wide world, I think it’s fair to say!

I promised Michelle a while ago that I would knit her a hat, and she got stuck on some lovely hand-dyed greens when we were daydreaming inside Loop. We didn’t end up buying anything, but I’m set on making her a green hat – it would go lovely with her hint-of-red curls and adorable freckles. I’ve had a thing for green hats myself lately, but when I try them on, they just don’t seem to work with my face. Well, I can live vicariously through her!

At some point we decided that cake and coffee were in order! I was kind of glad that this place was closed, because I got to take a photo of their shutters – and look how pretty they are!

We stumbled into a Middle-Eastern (?, we didn’t really check) restaurant and both wanted the same dessert as soon as we saw it on the menu! It was called Uludag, which to me sounded like something from the Lord of the Rings, and this further increased its appeal. I am a nerd, after all. :)

It didn’t quite live up to expectations, I’m sad to say. It was basically deep-frozen hazelnut ice-cream. It had promised to be a lot more, but we don’t have anything against ice-cream! When I say deep-frozen, however, I mean deeeeep-frozen. I’m guessing no one had ordered one in a while. I ended up eating mine with a knife and fork and pouring spoonfuls of my hot latte on it to make it give a little. Nothing helped. Have you ever eaten ice-cream with a knife and fork? :)

Well, at some point we decided it was finally time to go home. Luckily, after we went our separate ways, my path home still took me through some lovely spots.

I love giving tribute to the wonderful little details in my neighborhood – those that I walk by every day and should remember to admire more…

Like the fact that Tate Modern puts so much effort into making the fence around its construction site interesting and pretty! A sort of an outdoor art gallery actually…

And finally, I caught a snap of probably my most favoritest sign in the neighborhood!

I always feel soooo silly when people ask me for directions to the tube station and I say “oh, just follow the orange lampposts”. It sounds so Alice-in-Wonderland, and the fact that the orange lampposts take you along a slightly murky-looking route doesn’t help. People usually ask for alternative directions, probably something that doesn’t sound like I’ve just eaten crazy mushrooms….

That’s the end of our little walk! I hope your weekend is full of similar treats!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

13 thoughts on “a (crafty) walk

  1. Hey, I saw you commented on Vivianna’s feature about me! Thought I’d drop in and say hi and thanks! Definitely going to keep reading your blog (it’s a new one to me) as we both live in the same city!!

  2. Sounds lovely! And your Veylas have me thinking I should make a pair for myself – very sweet. Loop is definitely on my list of places to go the next time I’m in London! It looks wonderful.

    • Oh, Veylas are a must! I’ve already promised two other friends I’d make them Veylas. They’re rather fiddly, though (lots of details on a small space), but totally worth it!

  3. I love this post; I think you’ve inspired me to take more photos of my own adventures around London! It’s great seeing familiar places (Loop) as well as unfamiliar quirkiness (orange lampposts!).

    I looked at your mitts and thought “ooh, I want some of those!” and then realised that they’re Veylas, and I already have a pair. You clearly have good taste :)

  4. Pingback: Loop « fridica

Leave a Reply

