Mateo’s parcel

Last summer, I spent a month and a half in Norway, attending a summer school with people from faaaraway parts of the world. It was precisely this fact that attracted me to the school so much! For the first time in my life, I was sharing a classroom with people from Nigeria, South Africa, Kameroon, Ethiopia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, East Timor, Ukraine, Nicaragua… It was a group of about 20 people from the most varied backgrounds, and we had a blast together! We still have a mailing list and share important things from our lives on it, so as to keep everyone in the know. About a month ago, Marta sent us all an email with the most wonderful news – her sister had given birth to a baby boy! I took my cue immediately, selected a pattern, grabbed the yarn from my stash (I had just enough of a wonderful blue color), and wrote back to Marta congratulating and asking for her postal address! Now, my second baby pullover is finished and the little parcel is on its way to Nicaragua…

It’s another pattern from Kristen Rengren’s Vintage Baby Knits: Floyd. It features a pattern of diamonds at the bottom and top of the body, though now that it’s finished, they somehow look more like waves to me… Must be the blue!

I was quite unhappy with some of the aspects of the pattern. There were some crucial details that hadn’t been worked out properly, and I ended up really disappointed with the level of care and attentiveness invested in the writing of this pattern. If you intend to knit this pattern (don’t get me wrong: I love the end result, it’s just the technicalities of the pattern itself that could’ve been better), I strongly recommend that you read through my and other people’s notes on Ravelry. It will be a great help for figuring things out and for realizing it’s not your fault that the pattern isn’t working for you.

In the design itself, there are thoughtful details again. Comfortable garter stitch around the yoke with a wide opening for the baby head that doesn’t like to be squeeeezed through tight collars…

And a repeat of the diamond pattern on the little sleeves… :)

Well, despite my troubles with the pattern, I think the pullover came out nicely, and I hope little Mateo will like it. I included a little note for him.

And a little aligator for the postman! ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

14 thoughts on “Mateo’s parcel

  1. How generous of you! It’s so cute that I’m sure it was worth figuring out the difficulties with the pattern.

    • You make me blush! :) But giving away your creations to appreciative recipients is the best thing! It’s like the joy of giving a gift, just double, cause you didn’t just choose it, you made it! :))))

  2. I’m so riche to have you as a friend, even virtualy, because you are so nice as a person, your behavior to your (tvome bližnjem) sorry, I have missed the write expression, confirmed this. Loredana

  3. Hehe, stvar je u tome što sam taman imala pravu količinu točno tipa vune kakav mi je trebao – u plavoj… Pa je tak ispalo. Meni isto nije drago, al bar nije ljigavo bejbi plava.

  4. Pingback: you know what? giveaway! « fridica

Leave a Reply

