tea leaves

My recent entrance into the world of garment knitting via baby and child pullovers has got me thinking about trying to make a garment for myself… I’m still reluctant. I’ve tried once before and failed. It was due to technical skills and pattern problems, but mostly my own strength of will and persistence. I’m a more experienced knitter now, and I have slightly bigger projects behind me, but I still hesitate to start a sweater for myself, for several reasons:

  • time – There are so many projects and so many gifts that I want to knit! If I decide to embark on a large project like an adult sweater, I will have to accept that I won’t be able to make these gifts and send them out soon. So it’s basically giving up a bunch of small projects for one big one. Can I make that sacrifice?
  • interest – Will I get bored working on one thing for so long? A sweater necessarily involves a big chunk of stockinette, which is certainly pleasurable, but interesting? Not really. On the other hand, would the idea of finally making something so beautiful for myself push me on?
  • skill – I gave up on my last adult sweater when I was faced with short rows. I fumbled a bit but after a few attempts things seemed to be beyond repair (unless I ripped A LOT). Would something like this happen again? I would certainly make sure I try out any new techniques on a swatch before applying them to the actual garment.
  • cost – My stash doesn’t contain anything that would be enough for a sweater. And anyway, if I was really making something special for myself, I would want the yarn to be as special. However, for an adult sweater you need about 700 grams at least, and turned into £££ that is a lot. Especially if I make it in the recommended yarn, which is gorgeous (you’ll see in a bit), but goes at £20 per 100g skein at the moment!

So, now that I’ve shared all these concerns with you, this is what I’m daydreaming about:

It’s the Tea Leaves Cardigan by Melissa LaBarre. I love this style of cardigan, which you can wear as an extra layer over a t-shirt or a more special blouse. It’s both practical and adorable. Perfect for the spring. I love the ruffled yoke, such a lovely little detail to add. And you can get creative with picking interesting buttons!

The pattern was published by Madelintosh, who also offer gorgeous yarns. I went through their color cards and chose my favorites. They are:

Glazed Pecan
Burnished
Blackcurrent

… as well as Olivia, Isadora and Cedar. You can find them all here. Aren’t they amazing?

So, what do you think? Should I go for it? Which color would you choose for me? You know me pretty well by now, it’d be interesting to know what you think goes with my character… :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

6 thoughts on “tea leaves

  1. Ovo je jako lijepa vuna, ali cijena je prilično visoka. Kako sama kažeš nisi imala prilike do sada plesti za sebe, na tvom mjestu uzela bih neku od sličnih vuna koje ipak imaju nešto nižu cijenu, barem za prvi put. Kasnije, kada vidiš da pletenje pulovera nije tako teško i prvenstveno kada testiraš sebe, vlastiti opseg pažnje i spremnost da dovršiš, onda po mom mišljenju, možeš krenuti i na pletenje od skupih vlakana.

    Model koji si odabrala je jedan od onih koji dobro pristaje mladim i vitkim djevojkama, tako da nema razloga da na tebi ne bude savršen!

  2. I’ve just cast on a sweater for myself and I’m already wondering if I’ll ever make it to the end. Acres of stocking stitch is making me wish it was Lily-size!

  3. Naša draga prijateljica dala ti je odličan savjet, naime moram priznati da sam tako i ja počela, naročito davne osamdeset i nekoje kad smo se uselili u kuću, kad je sve proračunato, isplaćeni majstori…..itd, i ond au dugim zimskim večerima pleteš, heklaš, vezeš. , posluži se parolom lets go, I know that I can do this. A big kiss from Loredana

  4. one of my fave things is looking at beautiful yarn. sort of like looking at yummy deserts. go for the purple, although i think by now you’ve probably picked a color.

    • Thanks for the input, this yarn definitely does look like desert, especially the purple one! I haven’t made up my mind about the whole sweater yet, so any comments are very much appreciated. :)

Leave a Reply

