no surprizes here

Of course, as soon as I finished one hat, this gave me such a boost of energy and I immediately cast on for another one, which is now, less than two days later, 60 per cent done. I’ll probably finish it tomorrow. It’s always the same: finishing something is the best boost for my knitting. And then if it starts going at a good pace, and I can increase those progress bar percentages on Ravelry every so often, I seem to get into some race with myself… :)

One thing I’ve learned, though: you have to know when to stop. When it’s no longer fun and you’re only doing it to finish, or it’s 1 a.m. and your eyelids are dropping, even if there’s only three more rounds to go, leave it. You’re going to make a mistake. And then you’ll just go to bed frustrated, and still not having finished it. I’ve done this so many times, and regretted it. I’d like to think that now, I know when to stop…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

3 thoughts on “no surprizes here

  1. I’m the exact same about nearly anything, sewing, crafting, watching movies, reading especially. once i finish i’m so inspired to start something else but for whatever reason i have to stop in the middle. then i feel compelled to finish but chug along at a project and maybe, just maybe i’ll finish it. then i repeat the cycle. that one of the reasons why i have so many half finished books lying around! ha!

    • Haha! Interesting… When it comes to movies and books, I rarely start the next one without finishing one first, I don’t like to be reading three books at the same time, and even when I finish one, I like it to settle in my mind first before I start the next one… Not so with knitting! When I just started out and saw all the people complaining on Ravelry about UFOs, I decided to give myself one simple rule: one project at a time. Ha! Ha! That one lasted for… a day! But I do still like to not start too many projects at the same time and keep track of them. I recently devised a system of columns: finish -> block -> photos -> start, and I move every one of my projects through those columns, making sure there aren’t too many in the “finish” section… It seems to work so far! :)

Leave a Reply

