fizzy tangerine mitts

Well, the pattern itself is called Juniper Mitts, but this color reminded me too much of the freshness and nose-tickling of the sodas I use to drink as a kid in the summer… So the name stuck!

I have to admit, when I was making them, I didn’t think they’d get that much wear. But they’ve been on my hands constantly! Even indoors! The thing is, my laptop likes to overheat. And if I’m typing a lot and resting my hands on the area below the keyboard, it starts irritating my skin. However, a nice squishy wooly layer solves the whole problem! And these are squishy, believe you me. It’s my favorite thing about them! They were even squishier before I blocked them, so when I knit this pattern again, I might go lighter on the blocking…

The pattern is a very simple combination of knit and purl stitches, wonderfully easy to memorize and done in a jiffy! They form a spiraling rib, which I find simply irresistable…

Here’s the right one as well, so that the left one doesn’t get all the attention… It definitely deserves a mention, as I was in such a panic while making it. As I knit up about half of it, I realized I might not have enough yarn left. I pushed through, though, round after round, working with all the last bits and scraps of the yarn I could find. All through the last two pattern repeats I was so scared that even that wouldn’t be enough, and this is actually visible in my gauge! It’s much tighter on this second mitt, and the ridges are not as expressive as on the first one… But I pulled through, weaved in all the scrappy loose ends, and ended up with two mitts! And about 5 centimeteres of left-over yarn. Hehe, yay for zero wastage!

By the way, I think this might be my favorite yarn of all the ones I’ve ever worked with. It was definitely worth the investment – I made a Snapdragon Tam and these mitts out of only one 100g skein. It is a Spinning Colors Summit Special, shade “Sunflower.”

The buttons are purely decorative, but to me they add that little something that transforms these from simple mitts into something really special. I found them at a local craft store on one of my Sunday walks, a whole bag of these lovelies for I think one pound… I have so many left over, I love it! They were just too adorable to pass up, and even though I hadn’t been thinking of these mitts when I bought them, as soon as I got home I realized they were a match made in heaven!

Some foolishness was due during the photoshoot, of course! But I couldn’t get the light to work well, so I didn’t get many useable look-ma-with-no-hands photos…

I love this one though… I don’t know what it is, but something about these mitts makes me feel very empowered and independent! Yay for small things that give you such a boost! Girl power to you all… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

10 thoughts on “fizzy tangerine mitts

  1. Pingback: buttony! « fridica

Leave a Reply

