buying yarn

Remember my Owlet sweater? The one I decided to make for my niece’s birthday, and the one that was coming along insanely fast because it was in bulky yarn… Have you been wondering why I stopped mentioning it all of a sudden? It was because I ran out of yarn! I had bought 800g, as the pattern stated for the size I am making, but I ran out before I was far from finished. Actually, I ran out just as I got to the interesting part – the owled yoke. I went back to the store but they were out of stock. They advised me to call in a week. I waited a week and called. They advised me to call again in 10 days. Seriously? A 3-week delay because of just two balls of yarn? I went online and typed something like ‘Rowan yarn buy’ into Google. A dozen online stores popped up immediately, with more or less the same prices. I chose one that looked generally trustworthy and offered free shipping on orders over 10 pounds (mine was just barely over, yay). I placed my order on Saturday afternoon. The same day I was notified that it had shipped, and I found my two balls of yarn in my mailbox on Tuesday morning. Pretty good, huh? I am currently beating myself up for not having done that immediately…

And here is the outcome.

I think another hour or two and I’m done! Yay!

But back to the yarn. As I mentioned, I’m really quite irked with myself for not having turned to the online options sooner. The thing is, I had never ordered yarn online before. I loooove going to little yarn stores, seeing the colors live, touching all the yarn (sometimes even smelling it) and choosing it on the basis of a general feeling. That is very difficult online. But this was yarn that I had already chosen, so I just needed to restock – why didn’t I think of online shopping immediately? Well, the thing is, I’m just not a huge fan of online shopping because it makes me feel somehow passive. If I decide to put on a coat and walk over to the store to buy the yarn, I feel very active – I am actually doing something, being decisive, and getting something accomplished – I see the results immediately. If I just do a few clicks and then sit and wait for days until the package arrives, it just feels very passive… Does this make any sense to you?

That said, I’ve learnt my lesson. If I ever run out again, especially when I’m trying to meet a deadline for a very dear person’s birthday, I’ll know what to do immediately. Live and learn, that’s always been my motto… :) I thinks the wise owls would agree… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

6 thoughts on “buying yarn

  1. Did you actually manage to find the same dye lot? Great! I bought my first online yarn 10 days ago and I am waiting for it to arrive all the way from the UK :) to write a post.

    • It’s not the same dye lot, but I think these Rowan yarns are standardized enough for that to be ok. One of the first 8 balls of yarn I had bought was also a different dye lot than the others (it was simply all they had), and I cannot see any difference between them.

  2. You know I do this with fabric. I’m scared to death to buy a jersey online thinking it will come back to me and it’ll be Granny pants material. So I spent a whole day doing real shopping for EVERYTHING I could possibly want in the future, wrote down the names of stuff I liked, and I keep that file on hand for future online shopping. Makes it much easier. Except when I want something from Mood and they take my $200 and say to call back because it’s out of stock. I called back a week later and they hadn’t even put the order in yet! You NYC people. Get with it.

  3. This sweater is super adorable and can’t wait to see it finished up! I love going to local yarn shops. Going to one always feels like such a treat, but I always get overwhelmed with seeing all the yarn in person and usually walk away with very little for some reason.

  4. Wow, you are so close to finished! Sadly I lack a good LYS close to where I live so I’m pretty dependent on online shopping. It’s quite addictive, so you’re lucky you haven’t done it until now :)

Leave a Reply

