trusty helper

I’m not a big fan of crochet. Nothing personal, I just don’t like the look and feel of the resulting fabric. Kind of reminds me of weaving straw baskets rather than sewing (which is what knitting reminds me of). I am, however, a huge fan of one crochet hook!

When I first started knitting, a dropped stitch was the most dreaded thing that could happen. I just didn’t know how to deal with it. If a stitch did drop off my needle (and you can bet it did!) and I noticed it three rounds later – you know what I’d do? I’d rip. Rip the whole three rounds. And then go through the torture of getting all the stitches back on the needles (which can be terribly difficult or relatively easy, depending on the type of yarn you’re working with – I worked with the former), and generally get really frustrated about the whole thing. And then… I was given the Ultimate Knitting Bible, which has a very thorough section on something I think all craft books should have: troubleshooting.

It covers

  • dropped stitches (both on knit and purl rows, one row down or multiple rows down)
  • unravelling work
  • twisted stitches
  • incomplete stitches
  • uneven knitting
  • slanting work
  • altering length
  • correcting color and cables
  • mending snags and holes
  • and care of knitwear

Wow, that’s an impressive list! I don’t use half of it, but one thing I do use on almost every project is the technique of correcting dropped stitches with a crochet hook. It basically entails grabbing the loose horizontal strand of yarn with the crochet hook and pulling it through the dropped stitch. Depending on whether it’s a knit or a purl row, you pull the strand through from the front or from the back. It’s incredibly simple and quick, it works even if the dropped stitch is ten rows down, and the mistake is literally unspottable once it’s fixed! This is what I call the perfect troubleshooting tool! Therefore, let me just say: thank you, Crochet Hook, for making my life so much easier and my most desperate knitting moments completely surmountable!

p.s. I have no affiliation with the Ultimate Knitting Bible, its author or publisher. I just love it. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

Leave a Reply

