Narnia

As promised, I have another yummy hat to show you! This is the one I made in the rush of inspiration that took over me when I finished Hanna’s hat. It took a total of eight days from cast-on to being handed over to the mail-people, and most of that time was spent blocking and waiting to get a good light for photo-taking. I think this may be my personal record so far! Here is the final result:

When I made my first hat ever, Tajana was one of the first people I showed it to. She was thrilled! As a crafty person herself (she does mostly sewing), she knew how to appreciate it and I greatly appreciated her excitement and support. That very day I promised her I would make her a hat of her own some day and set off to search for the perfect pattern. She proposed several colors, one of which was the color of ice. A year went by, and her hat just never got round to being made. And then, a few weeks ago, I realized I had this yarn in my stash (I’d say that’s very close to the color of ice, don’t you think?) and that it would be the perfect yarn for the pattern in which I envisaged Tajana’s sweet head. From then on, it was easy.

Well, most of it was easy. I had made this pattern two times before, and it’s relatively simple and quick. However, the real trouble came with taking photos. The color got me convinced that the perfect background for the photos would be a brick wall. The warm red of brick would contrast the murky white perfectly, I thought. Well, I thought wrong. I tried taking photos in front of two different brick walls on two different days and the results were always the same: too bright. I’ve gotten pretty skilfull at taking photos of my hats on my own and I normally don’t have these brightness problems with them. I didn’t know what to do, so at one point, in total desperation, I hid into this little doorway which looked very dark. I assumed it would be too dark for photos, but I tried a test snap anyway… Lo and behold! Perfect colors! Yay! I hurried to get some more while my lucky spell lasted…

I think the hat is quite nice when it’s just layed out flat, as well! This is how I blocked it, without a plate, because it was naturally slouchy on its own. I thought of passing up the blocking, but it became obvioius to me that the wool needed to bloom a bit and that the hat would look nicer after blocking. So I pulled a thread through the rib band to keep it from stretching, soaked the hat thoroughly, and let it dry.

This is a k2tbl, p2 rib. Such a simple variation from the standard rib, and it makes it look so special. I love it!

Oh right, and finally, I should explain the name. As soon as I started knitting it, this hat invariably started ringing the word Narnia in my head… The color of the yarn is icey, the yarn is thick and warm, the resulting fabric is soft like snow, it’s something that the White Witch could wear with her complexion, but also something that Lucy could wear to keep her very very warm in that freezing winter… The name just imposed itself! I grew up watching the Narnia tv series, and when the movie came out I didn’t even consider seeing it – I didn’t want to mar my childhood memories. I still think it was a good decision – The Chronicles of Narnia, in their tv series form, remain an integral part of my childhood. And I was very happy to be able to associate something I created myself with those memories…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

5 thoughts on “Narnia

  1. Lovely hat! I love the background. Yes, you are the master of taking photos of your hats.But I never thought you were actually taking these photos. I might start practicing that. I usually take photos in my house or on my balcony, but I should start taking them outside like you, while I am walking somewhere

    • Thank you! At first I had other people taking photos, but then I found myself in a new city with only new friends and I felt embarassed asking them. So I gave it a try and it worked! In the beginning I was a little shy about doing it in public, but now I don’t care much any more… :)

  2. Beautiful hat! Love the twisted stitches in the ribbing. What a fantastic idea to thread the rib band before blocking, enviably professional!

    Also, I just sent you a Ravelry message re the Wednesday club, hope you get it soon. Looking forward to seeing more of your projects!

Leave a Reply

