birthday girl

Much of today is going to be spent finally finishing up probably my biggest project ever – a pullover for my niece. She is seen here modelling one of the few hats I actually made for myself (and probably my favorite hat so far – I wear it all the time). For more details on the project, please visit the Ravelry page – and here, if you don’t mind, I’d rather tell you a bit more about Ivona.

This little girl was born in 1998, when I was still in high school, and it made me feel so special to have become someone’s aunt. I wasn’t allowed to see her immediately when she was born because I had chickenpox (my mom and I caught it from my 10-years-younger sister that spring, so my poor dad was stuck taking care of all three of us and baking sweets for Easter all on his own), but I still remember the first time I held her in my arms. She was so small and lovely.

I was always harassing my sister-in-law with requests to babysit her… I talked to her incessantly when she was a baby. When she was 6, I taught her to say “burp” in English – she thought it was the funniest word ever. I was there when she was learning to ride her bicycle. When she was 9, she shocked me one day when we were leafing through some children’s encyclopaedia – she explained to me, without looking at the page, the whole human digestive system, exactly as it was presented in the book. That year for her birthday I gave her a subscription to National Geographic Junior. She loved it, but I never realized how much until next year, when I asked her if there was some specific present she wanted that year – she shyly asked me if I could just extend the subscription. It made me choke up, and of course the magazine has been arriving in her mailbox without interruption ever since.

I love this little girl so much, I love that I am her aunt, I love that I’ve been witness to her whole life, from the very beginning, I love that she calls me by my name rather than “aunty”, and I love recognizing the little details by which we are similar.

She is sincerely appreciative of every gift she receives. She’s not the kind of kid who only wants products related to some cartoon series or expensive toys. She actually reads the books I give her and she notices the thoughtfulness that goes into gifts. And when you find someone like that, you just want to keep giving to them, and keep coming up with very special things. Well, I’m happy with my plan this year, and though it will reach her a bit late, I have woved to have it postmarked on the day of her birthday. So I have some work to do!

Miss you, little one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

4 thoughts on “birthday girl

Leave a Reply

