work in progress

On Wednesday, I made my way to charming Notting Hill to participate in the inaugural meeting of The Last Wednesday Knitting Club. There were seven of us and the atmosphere was just wonderful – there was tea, scones, relaxed chatting, laughing about tourists (an inevitable part of any London conversation, but even more so when you’re sitting in the The Travel Bookshop and flashes are going off like mad outside), sharing stories about knitting, and of course – working on current projects.

I love the fact that every single one of us was working on something completely different and intriguing: Giselle was working on an adult sweater that involves lots of steeking and is currently not looking like a sweater at all, Jacqueline was trying to finish off a Christmas (2009 :D) gift scarf in a gorgeous color and stitch pattern, Saara was knitting a square with gi-normous needles just to be sociable (how lovely!), two American girls (ouch I forgot their names) were both attempting moebius scarves which, while they look simple, turned out to be incredibly complicated (it made me decide I could live a while longer without attempting one myself…), and their friend was just learning to knit for the first time ever!

I myself was working on the Elizabeth Zimmerman February Baby Sweater and I actually managed to get through some really complicated parts of it there! Taking a complicated project to a knitting group is never the best of ideas, but I didn’t have any other works in progress so I had no choice. I did ok, though! I managed to figure out how to connect the sleeves to the body and now I have ahead of me a long stretch of lace pattern… The lace pattern itself is quite simple, it’s the construction of the sweater that’s complicated. But luckily that bit is done now.

There’s another problem with this sweater though: it is impossible to photograph! The yarn is a gorgeous semi-solid MANOS silk blend (colorway 6461), but it kept looking bright red in all my photos… This one above is the best I managed. I found better photos on another blog, so go look at it over there to get a better impression. Luckily, the intended recipient’s father is a semi-professional photographer, so I hope that he’ll be able to take better photos of the finished project…

And to see what our first knitting group meeting looked like, visit Jacqueline’s blog for some scrumptious photos! And have a wonderful weekend! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

7 thoughts on “work in progress

  1. Just found your blog through a random search, going to have a good look later, but for now I love all the hats. I’ve added you to my blogroll so I can come back often.
    Best wishes
    Donna

  2. That colorway is really beautiful. This pattern is awesome–though seriously I had to make sure I was alone while trying to think through it at parts! ;)

  3. !! Ala si ti vredna, jedva mogu da pohvatam sta si sve uradila !! Svaka cast, ne znam koliko brzo prletes, ali ….. :)

    Misho, pa napravicemo mi nesto….. ko ce ako necemo mi ?

  4. Love the yarn – what a beautiful colour. Lucky baby!
    The knitting group sounds brilliant – I always like small groups – and what a wonderful place to meet!

    • You should come! It’s only once a month but that makes it super special… And gives you a great excuse to romp around Notting Hill! : )

      • thank you – i will indeed try and do so! I do love Notting Hill – so pretty, and i haven’t been to Books for Cooks in ages so would love to pop in there too…

Leave a Reply

