cakes

I’m in internet shopping hell at the moment.

Long story short: my old credit card expired in March, my credit card company sent my new card using an unreliable mailing service and it never got to me. A few days ago, having forgotten my card had expired, I tried to make a payment to Yahoo (to upgrade my Flickr account to Pro, because Flickr informed me that only the last 200 of my photos would be visible otherwise – since I use Flickr for my blog photos, I need all of them to be visible so I decided to upgrade). The payment didn’t go through because the card associated with my PayPal account was the one that had expired. However, the payment wasn’t technically declined either. So now it is pending. I cannot cancel it. PayPal cannot cancel it. Yahoo says they’ve already cancelled it. Their excuse is that this will only be processed in 5-7 days. On the other hand, I cannot link my other credit card (one which has not expired and has funds on it) to my PayPal account because you can only have credit cards linked to it from one country at a time. If you want to link a card from a different country, you have to first close your current PayPal account and open a new one. I cannot close my PayPal account and open a new one because I have a payment PENDING! And I also certainly don’t intend to try to pay for Flickr by different methods until this mess is resolved.

Purpose of long-story-short-which-ended-up-not-so-short: Please bear with me, I’ll keep uploading photos and for a while, some of the ones in the older posts won’t be accessible. Sorry.

I have spoken to three different customer services located in three different countries and three different time zones today (none of them in the country where I currently live, and none of them with free-of-charge phone numbers). I have previously worked in customer service, with very difficult customers, and I know how hard it is. I did my best to be nice. Even when I was talking about the fact that this is the second card this unreliable mail provider has lost and the fact that my bank keeps using them. Even when they were telling me repeatedly that they couldn’t do anything more for me than the things I could do on my own online. Even when they told me to wait, and wait, and wait. I think I deserve some cake. Not that I have any on me. But I do have some photos of cake-looking buildings, so here we go.

A cafe in my neighborhood.

A building across the river from the spot where we watched the Cambridge-Oxford boat race.
A CHOCOLATE FACTORY?!?!?! :))))) Well, actually, a restaurant-slash-gallery.

Is it just me or do these buildings remind you of cakes too?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

6 thoughts on “cakes

  1. What a mess! Hope it gets resolved soon and to your satisfaction. As for Flickr, why don’t you simply switch to another site, such as Photobucket, ImageShack, etc? I remember I had the same problem but, having a Blogger account, I was able to switch to their Picassa Web Albums.

  2. Eesh, how irritating. Hope you can get it sorted – and definitely hope you don’t lose your photos in the interim. Yikes.
    I see what you mean about the cake thing, I think it’s because they’re tiered!

  3. that sucks. i know it is annoying to wait but I’m sure it’ll get resolved eventually. in the meantime, flickr doesn’t delete those photos. they’re still there (and I think if you link to them they’ll still show up) you just can’t access them from the flickr site.

    i’ve got a pro account and I love it so I don’t mind paying for it but i have an old photobucket account as a back up. you could always do something like that until this mess gets cleared up.

    btw, i probably could have found this out some other way from reading your blog but where are you from? I’m guessing you live in england but are you from somewhere else?

  4. I tried to pay for my pro Flickr account three times in the last three years. I’ve had problems doing that every single time. Every time my credit card got flagged up, and once my bank insisted on me changing to a new card! (Never mind that I knew the old number by heart and there was no other problem with it, at all, ever…). I am seriously annoyed and also seriously considering to never try to upgrade Flickr again, it’s just not worth the hassle.
    Hope your problem gets sorted out soon!

Leave a Reply

