motivation

Tackling this topic is unusual for me. I don’t usually need to think about my motivation for knitting – there is an abundance of it, even an excess (at the expense of other, more ‘serious’ activities). But the last few days have seen it slump, and the slump is even more tactile in contrast to my recent rush of knitterly motivation.

I’m not sure what happened, but since last Wednesday, I just haven’t had the mo-jo. I’m suspecting the Elizabeth Zimmerman baby sweater. After struggling (successfully) through the difficult part of connecting the sleeves and the body, I am now left with nothing but endless rows of lace to do. It’s easy lace, no challenge there (apart from trying to make it look as even and neat as possible), but it does require some concentration, and it does go slow (because that is how lace goes). And since I know there is nothing other than it coming up, I have nothing else to look forward to.

I could start a different project on the side, but honestly, I am scared if I do that I might never go back to this one. And babies do grow. But then again, not quickly enough to give me at least the hurry as the motivation.

Not even the exuberant email from my latest hat-recipient helped. It made me feel wonderful – it was exactly the reaction every knitter (and gift giver) would imagine in their nicest dreams: full of smiley faces and kissey faces and praise for my work, for the gesture, full of excitement over the complete surprize, full of adjectives such as ‘perfect’ and expressions like ‘fits like a glove’, and of promises of photos of the hat in action. It made me feel so happy! But it didn’t make me pick up my needles.

Where is it? Why did it go away? What can I do to get it back? I keep asking myself… But, in the end, I think I might just let it come naturally. I don’t like forcing things and I certainly don’t think you can force creativity. What’s your take on the topic?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

6 thoughts on “motivation

  1. If I put as much time and attention into my master’s thesis as I put into my knitting, I would have a PhD already, that’s for sure :))) Thank goodness my knitting mojo hasn’t left me or I’d have no excuse for not writing the damned thing.

    I’m sure your motivation will be back. Try measuring your daily progress and calculating how many more days you need. Turning dull things into observable, numerically or graphically represented progression does the thing for me.

  2. I say don’t force it! My suggestion: cast on for something completely new and different, in yarn that you love and adore, and don’t worry about the mojo… it’ll return. It always does!

  3. Thanks girls! I’m going to try doing a little bit of both – I took Misha’s advice yesterday and tried to figure out how many more pattern repeats I need, and it turned out much less than I expected… I need 5 pattern repeats (4 rows each) to finish the body, so I’m thinking – if I do one pattern repeat each day, that’s really veeery little but some progress is being made and should be through it rather soon… I’ll let you know how it goes, for sure! ;)

  4. I have a lace shawl that I only do as an ‘on the side’ project because I no longer have the breathless anticipation about finishing it as I have with other projects. Picking it up every once in a while works perfectly well for getting on with it, but unfortunately that won’t do for you, because as you said: babies will grow!
    Maybe a change of scenery helps? Find yourself a nice coffee shop (in a bookshop or a museum perhaps?) and sit down for an hour of knitting? No other distractions can work wonders for slogging on with your project.

  5. Hello dear, at first thanks for the lovely walking through your neighbourhood where you living, and than I wan’t to repeat, so listen Giselle, quite right. For the moment I’m sewing the curtains for my craft room. Regards from Loredana.

  6. Oh I know how that can be! I stalled out on the lace on my February Lady sweater and didn’t pick it back up for over a year…

    I say keep plugging. In the meantime, find something your super jazzed to knit so you’ll want to finish it ASAP!

Leave a Reply

