craftyFOLK

Speaking of going business-like, here’s a fellow crafter who has come up with a sweet way to promote her work! CraftyFOLK has an adorable little giveaway of owl stickers, and everyone wins! Find out how!

Now, when I looked at her shop, one thing caught my eye immediately – typewriters! So, here comes confession time: I am a total geek. As a side note, recently I had a discussion with a few friends about the meaning of the word geek (as opposed to nerd), and the best we could come up with was “someone who likes things that ‘normal’ people find boring”. Like knitting. Or videogames. Or political science. :D Well, one of my geeky likes is touch-typing. I had always wanted to learn, and tried several times with my grandpa’s massive old typewriter, but my fingers would hurt too much, or it would be too sunny outside, or the summer would end and I would have to go back to my parents’ house and to school… Finally, a few years ago, when someone asked what I wanted for my birthday, they were not a little surprized to get a direct (and oh-so-geeky) answer: “a program for learning to touch-type”. I had just bought my first very own laptop (with my very own money) and there was no better time! I found a great program, and I never regretted it! I practised dilligently (laptop keys are much easier on the fingers than old typewriters) and in a matter of a month or two, I was touch-typing with impressive speed. Apart for being ever-so-pleased with myself (I just looooooove learning skills), this has also come in handy on a huge number of occasions! More or less all types of work that I do involve massive amounts of typing, and having the speed and your eyes free (because they don’t have to look at the keyboard) makes things unbelievably efficient! I cannot even imagine my old typing style any more…

Which brings me back to craftyFOLK. Aren’t these just adorable!

Yours Truly Touchtyping Geek would love one of them… What’s your hidden geeky love? Come out and confess! ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

6 thoughts on “craftyFOLK

  1. Pisaće mašine su pain in the but :D Ja užasno lupam po tipkama na laptopu kad pišem, što je manje-više živciralo mislim sve moje cimerice dosada, ali to je jednostavno zato jer sam naučila tipkati na pisaćoj mašini iz šezdesetih po kojoj je trebalo doslovce lupati da slova ostave čitljiv trag. Ali to nije razlog zašto su pisaće mašine pain in the but, nego to što su su toliko jebeno glasne da probude sve susjede kad ideš radit domaći za Daktilografiju u ponoć :D :D

      • To je istina, al su fakin nepraktične; kad se sjetim samo koliko sam puta počinjala pisat domaći ispočetka zato jer nismo smjeli koristiti korektor a svaka greška je smanjivala ocjenu za trećinu, uff… Pain in the butt, kad ti kažem.

  2. Pa da, ovaj program preko kojeg sam ja ucila je uvijek isto naglasavao da je preciznost i tocnost puno bitnija od brzine, jer cak i na kompu kad imas delete i backspace to ti oduzima vise vremena nego da tocno tipkas.

Leave a Reply

