organization

Here are some thoughts on another -ation today: organization.

In an attempt to make sure I use up more of my stash and make all the gifts I’ve promised, I’ve recently tried to come up with a system of organizing my projects. Well, two systems. I haven’t put too many projects through ‘the systems’ yet, so I’m not sure I can tell you much about their effectiveness, but this is how they are supposed to work.

The first system is conceptual. I devised a four-column table, through which each project is supposed to move. The columns are: FINISH -> BLOCK -> PHOTOS -> START. The idea is that a single project moves through the columns, and there should be relatively equal movement into different columns.

– click on image for larger version –

In other words, not too many projects should move into the FINISH column (which is basically the “work in progress” column, but I prefer this active sounding name for it, hoping it will get me going) before some projects move into the BLOCK and PHOTOS columns. Of course, the START column is the longest, because it is basically a list of projects I want to do – kind of like a queue on Ravelry, but I try to keep it limited only to projects I actually have a good chance of doing in the near future, and for which I have a yarn and a recipient in mind.

The second system is physical. For the projects from the START column for which I already have the yarn and pattern, I place them in a project bag and put in a special spot. I mark the bag with the name of the project. That way, I make sure I don’t use the yarn for something else by accident. Also, I know the project is there waiting for me as soon as I finish the current one.

There are a few potential drawbacks, however. One, the second (physical) system might give me the feeling that I’ve already destashed yarn which has merely been put in a different place. Two, the whole systematic and pre-planned approach might make the knitting feel more business-like and less a hobby. But seeing that I would like it to maybe become a small business some day, this might be an interesting experiment as to whether I’m actually up for it.

In any case, a little bit of organization never hurt anyone! Do you organize and plan your crafting? How do you do it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

3 thoughts on “organization

  1. This is fantastic! You should have it patented :) I don’t have the space for the physical system although I like its, well, physical aspects in that you actually set the yarn aside physically and not only mentally, which is what I do and then forget all about it in week or so. I keep a list of things I wish to knit/crochet but this is so much better because you can actally monitor the progress and see lists getting shorter.

  2. Well dear, very nice and good organization, you have posted in a right moment for me, as the craft room is ready, the chaise longe is at home, and the transfer from the downstair flat can start. For the moment all is the big boxes ready to select, and I admit I will do it step by step, as the garden need me for a while, so I will do it as always in the late evening have a nice weekend. Loredana.

Leave a Reply

