sunburn

Yes, that’s right! Birmingham was SO awesome that I actually got a little sunburn! I really had a wonderful and relaxing day and a half there and I feel emotionally regenerated. I hadn’t been out of London since January, and honestly I had forgotten how relaxed cities can be… Not that I don’t love London! But getting away is a necessity every once in a while…

In Birmingham, I was welcomed by sunshine and greenery.

I was starving so I headed to an independent cafe recommended by a fellow Raveler, the Urban Coffee Company. I love what a great resource Ravelry has become to me, I never fail to consult with fellow knitters before I go somewhere now, and I always come away with great recommendations. This time was no exception! My only regret was that it wasn’t Monday or Friday…

After regenerating a bit, I went off to explore… In the process, I developed a new crush! Romantic-looking headstones!

I also found myself quite impressed with Birmingham’s interesting taste in statues.

And this sweet tribute to a man I had never heard of.

I saw lots of charming old buildings.

And some daring new ones!

I haven’t investigated, but I’m sure opinions are split on the recently erected Selfridges building, as opinions always are when it comes to modern architecture. I personally loved it! And not only for its exterior…

On my second day, after taking care of the business part of the trip in the morning, I had a few hours left to walk around some more. I used them to explore the canal area.

As well as to do what I like best when it comes to travel: wander around more or less aimlessly. This method usually ends up taking me to the most interesting and unexpected places and events! Like these business people who took advantage of their lunch break to dance a bit… It was part of the promotion for the International Dance Festival which is currently going on.

I also stumbled upon some more yumminess.

And some unusual street signs! (Poor alley, must they put it down so?)

I finished off my visit the same way I started it – by taking up a Raveller’s recommendation. I had a delightful cup of Pearl Tea at Cha Cha Cha Tea Lounge, which is actually where the Birmingham Stitch’n’Bitch group meets!

On my way home (just like on the way there), I enjoyed watching flocks of sheep, horses and cows frolick around the meadows adjoining the train tracks. There was some uncensored lamb joy to be seen, I loved it! :) The train was going too fast, however, to catch anything better than this, so I guess you’ll have to take my word for it! :)

Well, that was my little local adventure! I hope you enjoyed coming along with me. As for myself, I’m ready for some new travels. I’ll have to be patient until the summer, but there are some long-anticipated adventures planned… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

6 thoughts on “sunburn

  1. Hej! That seems like a fun trip.
    Citytrips and getting around are one of the things i like the most.
    Next month it will be Berlin for me again.

    I found you via Jaqueline from the craftyfoxes blog.

    Have a nice weekend.

  2. Have I been knitting too long that it took a second glance to realise that Needless Alley had two “s”s. ;o)

    • Yeah, I loved it too, though a friend of mine later informed me that it was apparently voted ugliest building of the year recently. I still think it’s awesome! :)

Leave a Reply

