revisiting

For more info on what it is, click the badge. And join in with the fun!

I knit it up in August 2009 in Oslo. I photographed it in September 2009 in Zagreb. I have been wearing it since October 2009 in London. It’s my favorite hat. We go places together.

We strike poses.

We visit museums.

And botanical gardens.

We celebrate together (happy 2010!)!

We visit new places (like Oxford).

And make friends. :)

And sometimes we even soak up the sun together (especially if one of us hasn’t washed her hair but needs to look presentable;)).

The pattern is Rose Red by Ysolda, made in DROPS Alpaca (amazing yarn, my absolute favorite). Though the pattern is partially lacey, it still offers great warmth in the winter, while also letting my head breathe on warmer days. And it’s just perfect for the rain – this hat has kept my head dry (I hate umbrellas!) for the last six months. It is gorgeous and works well both with fancy and casual styles. As for how it’s sustaining the frequent wear – I can barely see any difference in its appearance between July and now. I think this hat and I are gonna keep having adventures together for years to come… :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

23 thoughts on “revisiting

    • You totally should! I’ve made it three times already! (Plus the fourth time, which was actually the first time when I knit this one, then cast off too tightly, then ripped the whole thing because I couldn’t get the stitches back on my needles properly – yes I did that, ripped THE WHOLE THING, can you believe it?!)

    • Thanks! The pictures weren’t made with the purpose of showing off the hat, I just wore it ALL THE TIME during the winter so it was inevitably in all the outdoor photos of me :)

    • I’m not a huge fan of grey, but this one just called to me when I walked into the shop looking for something for Rose Red. It was such a lucky guess, I still can’t believe what a great match they are… :)

  1. Great hat great hat great hat! I want one. I’ve never made anything from drops alpaca – great that it has lasted so well, I think I’d actually been put off by the thought that alpaca might not, so this is excellent news.
    I love that door at the bodleian . So cool.

  2. This is a great blog post! Not only is the hat wonderful but I think the writing is wonderful too! Very well done, it was a joy to read. You inspire me!

  3. Pingback: guess what was just announced! « fridica

Leave a Reply

