what a yarn!

For more info on what it is, click the badge. And join in with the fun!

As I shared recently, I’m still very much a newb when it comes to yarn. Most of my experience is with wool-acrylic blends, and while I do not consider myself a yarn snob (for an interesting take on that, check out Kismet’s Companion), it is my desire to expand my horizons as much as possible when it comes to yarn and to be able to say, some day in the distant future, that I’ve tried so and so many and that I now know for sure that these and these are my absolute favorites… But that doesn’t happen overnight, it’s not enough to just study the yarn online or stroke it a few times at the local yarn shop – to really know a yarn, one must knit something with it. Oh, the number of times that I have fallen in love with a yarn for how it looked in a skein (especially the skeins that are not wound into balls yet, oh my how I adore the look of those), only to discover that it looked completely different when it’s knit up! So I’ve learned to become more cautious with my yarn-crushes lately, and I am endlessly grateful to yarn shops that go through the trouble (not that much trouble if you think about it, really) of knitting up a 10×10 cm swatch and display it with the yarn – so helpful!

That said, there is one yarn I am dying to try. Louisa Harding’s Willow Tweed.

I first saw it in a department store and it just took my breath away. It just screams ‘shabby chic’ to me and I find it irresistable…

I am dying to make a hat out of it! While I’m not crazy about the composition (I know it sounds insane, but I don’t like knitting with silk! so much for yarn snobbery!), I find the look irresistable. I think it would be perfect for a Topographie.

Or perhaps a slouchier hat, but based on the Topographie principle. By the way, have you checked out this pattern before? It’s perfect for showing off a special yarn. Here’s what the author says about it:

The yarn itself and the way it was dyed dictate what your finished project will look like: whether or not the pattern will be regular or very random, stripe-y or blotchy, sparsely textured or lumpy all over. It’s exciting to give up control and let the yarn lead the way…

I agree! I can’t wait to give this a try!

So, what do you think? Have you worked with Willow Tweed before? Show me your finished projects! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

18 thoughts on “what a yarn!

  1. Oh it looks great – I”ve never actually even heard of it before, but it looks like a great choice for the pattern and I think the silk will give a lovely texture and finish to it. Can’t wait to see!

    • I saw it in John Lewis, actually. Don’t know how I managed to resist buying it immediately… I think I’ll have to go back there asap.

  2. This is why I love Ravelry – it’s saved me from buying some really awful yarns! Sadly there are some ugly FOs on there that weren’t so lucky :D

  3. And now I’ve come to visit your blog, creating a full blog circle! I love the look of that tweed. I’ll be lurking around, waiting for you to knit something with it! :)

  4. This wool is in last few months number one, I had bought it but in dark green on the fairy in Pordenon, this year they (as evry year) enlarged the theme of the fairy, not only flower. Regards. Loredana.

  5. I….have issues picking out yarn as well. What’s up with that? It seems like it should be so simple. I also think I might be color blind (or just color stupid). That Willow Tweed looks awesome though…I think you made an excellent choice!

  6. Not try yet, as I have to fdecide what to do, in effect I want do make one weistcoat something casual, to wear over the trouser and so…., but my opinion is that on touch the wool is so cool and in a way to say so knitty or very nice for sewing, as usually my mother says when the work is going perfectly. Loredana.

  7. Pingback: good stuff coming up « fridica

  8. Pingback: guess what was just announced! « fridica

Leave a Reply

