buttony!

Buttons have been on my mind a lot these days. I’m still in search of the perfect buttons to match the February Baby Sweater – I bought some the other day but when I started sewing them on realized they were too small (my friend and I had obviously overdone it in our attempts to find small buttons, because the buttonholes really seemed tiny). It’s ok, I’ll just have to use them for something else.

In this process, we also visited two lovely button shops. One run by two elderly gentlemen who turn the button business into a very dignified thing indeed (The Button Queen), I almost felt like I wasn’t dressed nice enough to be in there (but they were very nice, and really had a wonderful selection – I think I might need to go back for some buttonsies). The second we stumbled on by accident and fell in love, both of us: Cloth House. Go look at the website, there’s a flash video showing their two stores, though it only communicates part of their amazingness. This is your heaven for the coolest fabrics, ribbons and buttons. I want to live there!

All this got me thinking about my own tiny button collection, so I thought I’d show you my crown jewels. None of them have a purpose yet, because I’m saving them for that perfect project that will just call their names… Here they are, basking in the sun…

These I got from my Mum’s button collection. I seem to even vaguely remember the piece of clothing they used to belong to, and I just love the color. I’m saving these for something extremely special indeed. I love that you can see signs of wear and tear on them.

I got these at a very cool little craft store here in London. I first got four of them, and when I went back recently I realized they had four more, so I snapped them up. One day, I’ll make a cardigan, and these babies will be waiting for it… ;) I love the deep dark red.

I bought these for the first thing I ever made with buttons – a hat which can be unbuttoned (no purpose to it, and it actually quite annoyed me). But I still liked the buttons I used! I have these three left over and I’m sure they’ll find a garment to suit them some day.

Another set from my Mum’s treasurebox. These are so lady-like, they’re definitely going on something for me, I couldn’t bear to give them away.

These are the ones I bought for the baby sweater: 6 smaller ones for the sweater and 2 bigger ones for the slippers I made to match – and they’re all too small. My friend said they reminded her of childhood – I know what she meant!

And finally, I bought these for no purpose, because they just charmed me! They’re like little candies, or fresh fruit, they scream summer and happy and young and cheerful! Since I’ve bought them, four have gone to match my orange handwarmers (I’m wearing them at the moment), and they are a perfect match – they always make me happy! Luckily, there’s plenty of more to go around and I’m looking forward to adorning many things with them…

Well there you go. Quite a modest collection, but I’m happy with it for now! I have a big enough problem with my yarn stash, don’t need another ‘habit’ for now… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

7 thoughts on “buttony!

  1. oooh, I love your buttons, especially those dark red ones! I should blog about my button collection one day. It started quite recently but has become quite a compulsion!!

    • You should! I haven’t yet knit that many things that required buttons, so I guess that’s why I’m able to keep it under control for now… :)

  2. Lovely buttons- I remember my Nana having a button collection that I loved looking through when I was a kid- don’t know what happened to it :(

Leave a Reply

