look what the postman brought…

Well, I have to tell you – discussions here have really inspired me to challenge my own boundaries and try what has long been on my wishlist! So, without further ado…

After checking out many books, this one seemed most atuned to my preferred style of learning. And had the best looking photography, which is always a bonus! ;) I would like to offer a little recommendation here – recently I’ve been doing all my online book purchasing from The Book Depository, a UK-based company with free worldwide shipping. Um, let me make sure you got that: FREE WORLDWIDE SHIPPING! They are very professional and fast, and lately, whenever I try to do the math, they always come up on top. With Amazon, even if I go for the cheapest second-hand option, it’s still more expensive when the shipping costs are added. There isn’t that big of a difference now when I’m living in the UK, but when I go back home it will certainly make a huge difference not to have to pay overseas shipping prices (they can be harsh!). But even here, The Book Depository wins out. And they seem to have a proper collection of books. In other words, they have had every single knitting book I’ve checked for, and that to me is the proper test… ;)

I think this book and I are going to get along well. I experimented a bit yesterday with cast-on methods, and I do have to admit they were a bit complicated. But I like a good challenge! Today I’m getting some better-suited needles and I’m guessing you’ll be reading a lot about socks in the upcoming period…

I also made a more formal commitment, to make sure I don’t back down. I promised a friend a pair of handknit socks for her birthday! I’m aiming for these… What do you think? ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

20 thoughts on “look what the postman brought…

  1. I found the cast on instructions in the book hard to follow, so I used YouTube for guidance on a Turkish cast on. After that, I was fine. Love the socks you chose! Thanks for the rec to the book website, not come across that one before.

  2. Woohee! Fantastic!
    I only cast on for my first pair of socks in years very recently so I shouldn’t talk (The Portland Gussets). I tried Judy’s invisible cast-on: not very easy to do but once you get it, it’s fantastic! Looks very, very good.
    On another note: do you fancy comparing notes? On cast-ons and what not. Heck, we could even try starting a London monthly sock knitting club! (that might be going too far, but actually what do you think?)

    • Haha, I think that might be rushing ahead of myself just a bit! I’m still in the middle of exams and quite stressful times so I can’t really make proper commitments like that… But maybe, if the sock-knitting frenzy properly engulfs me! :)

  3. I have positive a positive experience with Book Depository too. Not only do they ship to countries such as Serbia (which is not always the case with other online bookshops) and do it for free, but they also accept non-PayPal forms of payment.

    I like the socks you chose. What colour do you have inmind? Looking forward to seeing some other new projects from this book :)

    • My friend likes this dark green-blue color. They might be a bit too dark, but we’ll see. First up plain socks though, for practice!

  4. I bought that book a little while ago too. I’ve only knit a few socks in my time, and all have been toe-up, using various heels and toes from Wendy Johnson’s other patterns. I just love the satisfaction of trying them on as you go along!

    • To be honest, I didn’t give much thought to whether I should learn toe-up or cuff-down. I basically just looked for a book that seemed to follow the style of learning I like. (I’m really picky about books.) Only now some of the advantages and disadvantages of toe-up occured to me, but overall, I think I can master it either way ;)

  5. Thanks for the address : I usually order my English or American books via Amazon. But free worldwide shipping is VERY interesting.
    And congratulations : you’ll probably knit your first pair of socks before me… I’ll have to follow the challenge one day!

    • I’ll be sure to write a more detailed review once I actually start using it and have a better feel for its strenghts and weaknesses, so you can decide then ;)

  6. Judy’s Magic Cast-On. In my opinion, it’s the only one you need. You made a great choice with that book. Wendy is a great sock knitter and designer.

    • Oooh, thanks for the heads up! I usually tend to start from the first cast-on described, but I just looked at this one and it seems intriguing! Will give it a try! :)

  7. I usually use Book Depository too, but if you order more than one book, they all come in separate envelopes, which is a bit environmentally unfriendly, unless you recycle the envelopes I suppose. But they do offer a good service.
    I have this book too, and have made the diagonal lace socks, and am partway into Sherie’s Posies although I think I will frog that because the Malabrigo sock yarn is far too good for socks!!!
    The pair you chose – is there a lot of purling involved?

    • There is indeed, good noticing! It hadn’t even occured to me so I had to check now. Though I still think socks are a small enough project for me not to mind anyway! Some purling practice is always good, I need to get better at it… ;)

Leave a Reply

