happy photos

A few days ago, I received an email that made me very happy. A lot of my knitting is for gifts, and lately, since I’ve been living away from home (and since the number of my friends strewn across different corners of the globe has increased), I’ve been putting many of those knitted gifts in the mail, hoping they will survive their long journeys, come out at the other end unharmed, and be loved and worn wherever they end up. And I’m told they are. I’m thanked profusely. I’m made to smile. But rarely, rarely do I ever get photos. Until the other day.

Remember the blue Floyd sweater from a while ago? It went to Mateo, who was born in February in Costa Rica. It’s still too big on him, but his Mum says he enjoys the sweater a lot and always falls peacefully asleep when she puts it on. Hehe, if I could make this a magic ingredient of all my baby sweaters, I’m sure I could make a fortune… ;)

Mateo’s Mum kindly allowed me to share these photos with you, and even sent me extra ones to make sure I get good shots! Now that in my book is one amazing new Mum! I hope you like the photos – they’ve sure kept a huge smile on my face for the last few days… :)

Isn’t this boy the most adorable little thing you’ve seen? And there he is, in MY sweater! Don’t wanna sound arrogant, but this must be my proudest knit ever… :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

12 thoughts on “happy photos

  1. Oh, those are such wonderful photos! He looks adorable – and a sweater that’s a little big at this stage is probably great. He is extremely cute, and you arranged the photos perfectly. The ones with him sleeping are very sweet, but then you see him awake, and those eyes!!

  2. You did a great job on the sweater…but I’m afraid that cutie patootie with all the hair is kind of stealing the show (please don’t take offense, I mean none.) ;-) It is a very good thing the sweater is too big on him. I bet he will outgrow it very soon.

  3. What a beautiful baby – he has the most incredible eyes!!! Haha, I have to agree with the above commenter – the sweater is adorable but it pales in comparison to such a beautiful baby! He looks so cosy and happy in it, so I think you are justified in feeling very proud! How lovely to see it on its recipient.

  4. What a cutie! And what a great job you did with the sweater, it just looks so soft and snuggly- no wonder he falls asleep peacefully in it.

  5. awww!! he’s so adorable!! And that’s amazing that your sweater has magical sleeping properties- that’s the best!! You must just be ready to burst with pride, because I know I would!! What an awesome, treasured, gift!!

  6. I remember you had some problem with the pattern. Well, when you see this cute little boy wearing your sweater, you know it was worth the time you spent on it !
    Moreover, if your sweaters make babies sleep, lots of new mums or mums to be will adore you !

Leave a Reply

