a Sock

Is it ugly? You betcha!

Are its proportions insane? A-ha!

Has it been described as a duck’s foot? Yup!

Does it contain holes and messy stitches? More than several!

But, still, whatever anyone may say of it, one thing cannot be denied: it is a Sock.

Quick recap:

  • Toes worked out amazingly well for a first attempt (go Judy’s Magic Cast-on!).
  • I definitely need more practice with short rows: on one side my wrapped stitches were incredibly baggy and stretched out, and all over picking up the wraps was a total mess (it seems to be the bit I struggle with most when it comes to short rows).
  • Apart from that, it’s just quick knitting in the round (my favorite activity), yay! I think once I get this basic technique down, adding on more complex patterns will be pretty easy.
  • Finally, need to find a good stretchy bind-off method. I worked with a much larger needle and bound off in rib, but the edge is still stiff and non-stretchy. Not good for socks. Since I usually knit hats from the rim to the crown, I have surprizingly little experience with binding off.

I’m quite happy with this! I hope I’ll be starting my first ‘real’ sock soon… I’ll keep you posted! ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

13 thoughts on “a Sock

  1. It is awesome! I have made it my life goal to make a perfect short row heel. I’ve done several and I aim for improvement every time. I find short row heels fit my feet best. As for bind offs: If you’ve used a k1 p1 ribbing I can’t rave about the tubular cast off enough and just yesterday I discovered Jen’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind off. Both techniques are google-able.

    • The tubular cast off is sewn, right? I like using that one to match a tubular cast on but I can’t be bothered doing it for socks. Jen’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind Off is good though.

  2. Very cool – congratulations! I have still not mastered short-row heels and don’t find they’re the best shape for any of the three feet I knit for. I like Cat Bordhi’s heel from New Pathways for Sock Knitters vol. 1 as a heel for toe-up socks.

    I also highly recommend Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind Off. I use it for lots of things including toe-up socks.

    You might want to try top-down sometime, too. I don’t think it’s obvious which one you’ll prefer until you’ve tried.

  3. Well done on your first sock! Yeah, Judy’s magic cast on vs kitchener stitch — and you know why toe-up is my favourite sock method. ;-)

  4. Well done on your first sock! It looks great to me, I can’t see any mistakes at all, and it’s lovely and even too!
    If you want help with knitting off the wraps then ask me next time you see me. I find it a little easier on one side than the other so I can show you a slightly different technique too: do a yarnover at the end of your short row instead of wrapping the stitch, knit the yarnover together with the first stitch ‘after’ the short row (placing the yarnover behind the other stitch) – this only works if you don’t knit too tightly otherwise it would distort the stitches too much and you’d be better off with a wrapped stitch. Let me know.

    • I love that you called it Goldie! :) That is its official name now! :) Sadly, for now it hasn’t had any knitting whatsoever to keep it company, these days there’s just no time for it :(

  5. Well… it totally looks like a sock. So sweet!
    I like EZ’s sewn bind off… I use it on alot of socks.
    I haven’t tried the other type yet, so I may have to give that a go.
    Thanks for visiting my blog too.

  6. Pingback: a conceptual gift « fridica

Leave a Reply

