guest post at the mother huddle!

I know – I have completely disappeared. It wasn’t completely planned, but it’s just one of those periods when life (i.e. grad school) takes over. It hasn’t been so much the lack of time to write a post, more the lack of time to do anything else about which to then write. My knitting needles are sitting in the corner crying… But we have to make it through this, and I’ve promised them a Kim Hargreaves book for reward once it’s all over! ;) To you, I promise lots of knitting, photos, and the usual silliness… :)

In the meantime, there are many other awesome blogs to check out! And today, I have the honor of having a guest post featured on one of them! I’ve never guest-blogged anywhere before, so this is super-exciting! I finished the post a few weeks ago, after working on it here and there for about a month – I wanted it to be perfect… I hope you hop on over to The Mother Huddle and check it out!

And while you’re there, don’t forget to check out the other cool stuff the ladies of The Mother Huddle put into this world, like tutorials on how to create adorable bags from vintage hand embroidered pillowcases, how to make your own body scrubs and how to refashion your flip-flops (I HEART flip-flops!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

4 thoughts on “guest post at the mother huddle!

  1. I started knitting on 2 pencils with some scrap yarn when I was about 13 – mostly because my grandma said I would not be able to do it! I had NO instructions – and the pencil lead made a mess of the yarn – but I was so proud of the little mess anyway!
    Several years later, I found a wonderful teacher who noticed that I was doing ‘twisted purls’ and asked me where I had learned to do them – I had no idea that i was not doing regular purls all that time!
    Thank you for offering such wonderful guidance for curious beginners – wish I had this kind of advice when I started.

    • Pencils, wow! My grandma told me she learnt to knit with two wires extracted from the wheel of a bicycle, but your pencils are even more extreme! :) It shows you can do anything when you set your mind to it, though :)
      Glad you liked the post – it was so hard to decide what to include, I wanted to tell them EVERYTHING! :D

  2. Hello,
    I was doodling around on the The mother Huddle blog and saw your post. I loved the picture of the brown hat. I would love to know where you got that pattern or the name of it so I could try to find it. I recently started knitting and I am having a ball. I am making my second scarf right now but I am very interested in scarfs and hats. I look forward to spending more time on your blog to see what I can learn. Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Nikki! I’m glad to hear there’s a new knitting addict :) The brown hat is one of my absolute favourite patterns – Rose Red by Ysolda Teague. You can find it here: http://ysolda.com/patterns/accessories/hats/rose-red/ I’ve made the hat three times, that’s how much I love the pattern! It involves doing lace and cables, but Ysolda explains everything nicely so it shouldn’t be a problem. There’s a chart and written instructions – so you can use whicever you prefer. Hope to see you around more :) Ivana

Leave a Reply

