sheep

With a love for knitting comes an obsession with wool. And from an obsession with wool a love of sheep is born.

I don’t have much experience with live sheep yet, apart from watching about five hours of Lambing Live on BBC a few months ago and giggling at the playfulness of various flocks I saw from the train last month, but I’m definitely sensing a growing impulse to collect all things sheepy… Here are the first two pieces in my collection.

A free postcard I got at some event – I love the little cheeky orange sheep! I love this thing! Did you notice it on my wall here?

And a pen with a sheep pom-pom made out of the softest wool attached to the top. I picked it up at the crafty night at the Hunterian, and later had to admit to myself that I probably wouldn’t have bought it had it not been for the giddiness of that night and some alcohol in my blood… But it made me really happy and smiley in that moment, so I still think of it fondly. :)

Edited to add: I completely forgot about Sheep Poo Paper! I was just pacing around the room when I noticed it stuck on my wall! So here is my sheep collectable number 3. By the way, Sheep Poo Paper is an awesome (and somewhat yucky :D) idea, go check it out on the link!

Do you find yourself ending up with random collections? I have a friend who vaguely liked collecting cows, but then once the word got out everyone started getting her cows in various shapes and sizes for birthdays, anniversaries, Christmases etc. Frankly, I think she’s slightly sick of them by now…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

12 thoughts on “sheep

  1. what a cute collection!! I had no idea there even was sheep poo paper- I’m going to check that out! talk about environmentally friendly.

  2. A friend of mine had the same problem with frogs. Everyone then bought her frogs and she ended up hating them.

    Another friend got some great buttons of sheep, with one black and the rest white. They are great.

    I love the sheepy postcard.

  3. Thanks so much for the link! There are loads that I like, and I can think of great uses for them! I’ve never used cermaic buttons before, though, do they break easily? I need to put buttons on a baby sweater, I’m guessing ceramics might not be the best way to go…

    • I am not sure about using them on a baby sweater. By the design of them they do seem to lend themselves to childrens sweaters. I think you have to handwash and they are fine. This is not a problem most of the time because a lot of yarn has to be handwashed anyway. I am glad you like the site.

  4. i love sheep! before i moved to edinburgh for vet school, i had very little experience with them, but after a few sessions of playing with ewes, they became one of my favorite animals! i spent two weeks lambing in scotland in 2009, and i thought each lamb was cuter than the last. it never gets old!

    i have lots of sheep-y things (like my needle rolls) but my family also gives me lots of cow-related knick-knacks. i love both.

Leave a Reply

