get ready for tomorrow!

You know what tomorrow is?

It’s worldwide knit-in-public day!!! Did you know about it? Are you participating? It’s really easy, all you have to do is – go outside and knit a while. :) It’s your favorite activity anyway. Are you like me, and you like knitting everywhere? Or have you been shy about knitting in public so far? Give it a try. If you’re shy, it doesn’t have to be the most crowded place in the world. Really, you don’t have to knit at the central train station. :) Go to your favorite bench. Visit that friendly cafe you like. Find a nice patch of grass. Bring a friend. Embrace those odd looks: it usually means people are curious about what you are doing. Smile at them. Chitchat with a stranger who is reminded of his grandma, who used to knit all the time. Let a child play with your ball of yarn. Enjoy yourself. I guarantee you personally that you’ll put a smile on someone’s face. You might even meet some other knitters, after all they’re all going to be out there somewhere… ;)

See you in public! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

5 thoughts on “get ready for tomorrow!

  1. I haven’t done this yet! Thanks for letting us all know – I wasn’t sure what I was going to do tomorrow, but this is not a bad idea… go to a coffee shop, hang out a bit, and knit.

    ‘Course, now that I think about it, that means I have to think a lot harder about what I should knit next…

  2. Over here WWKIPD is really four days — there are events going on both tomorrow and Sunday, as well as next weekend. (This is because TNNA is on this weekend.)

    I’ll be knitting at our local racetrack on Sunday, and next weekend in one of Vancouver’s main parks.

    Mind you…pretty much every day in knitting in public day for me. But great big groups of knitters do tend to turn a lot of heads!

  3. Woah, Thanks for the heads up! I might have missed it otherwise :D I think its forecast to bucket down with rain here in Edinburgh tomorrow but I’m sure I can find shelter in a nice cake shop and crack on with my latest project, all in the name of promoting knitting!

Leave a Reply

