Worldwide Knit in Public Day

Today, I celebrated Worldwide Knit in Public Day. It was the perfect day for it as well – the temperature was just perfect for sitting on the grass and relaxing with some knitting! I joined an event in Kensington Gardens, which is as of today my favorite London park. We certainly weren’t the only ones taking advantage of the weather – there were many people reading, playing with ducks and swans, photographing squirrels, sleeping and playing football against the backdrop of this magnificent park…

But we were there to knit! And knit we did. The time went by so fast, I was shocked when I realized it was already 15 minutes past the time when the event was supposed to end!

Since we were sitting right next to one of the main attractions of the park – the Peter Pan statue, there were lots of tourists coming by, throwing us interested glances and even taking photos of us. Well that was the whole point, wasn’t it? To spread the word about knitting! :)

There was lots of chit-chat, sharing and comparing.

I realized I’m not the only one making super-concentrated faces when I’m knitting!

Some people came very well equipped.

While others made do with the grass alone.

There were even raffle prizes to be won!

And I was just super happy to be there! It was only the second time I celebrated Worldwide Knit in Public Day, and the first time I did so in the company of other knitters.

I hope every June 12th looks like this from now on… :) Thanks, knitting buddies. :)

And what did you do? :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

13 thoughts on “Worldwide Knit in Public Day

  1. So wish I could of joined in with other knitters today :( I made do with knitting a couple of rounds on my sock in a cafe waiting for a coffee and a scone. Maybe next year :)

  2. oh this totally passed me by – i’m a terrible public knitter anyway, i get very self conscious and distracted, perhaps i should work on it?! what a perfect day you had for it – i love the way london parks draw everyone in when the sun comes peeking out. Your scarf is looking lovely!

    • That is probably my favorite thing about London – how people love to combine sun and grass and are not at all shy about it (like in some countries I know, hmpf). I think there were a few people yesterday for whom this was their first knitting in public attempt, you probably would’ve enjoyed it! :)

  3. Wow…. :) Koliko vas je :)
    Mi ovde nista nismo odrzali, posto je paklenih 38 stepeni C, ne izlazimo van kuce i klime, ako bas ne moramo :)

    Hvala ti sto si me uvrstila u tvoju listu blogova !!!
    Zaista je lepo videti svoj nick u tudjem postu, jos u tako lepoj recenici :)

    Ciklama dzemperak je izasao zaista divno !!
    Gospodja Zimmerman je ……. izuzetna… Jesi li gledala njenu mini-seriju “The Knitting Workshop”?

  4. WWKIPD totally passed me by too. I’m afraid I didn’t even leave the house. It looks like you had a great day. I will be more of aware of it next year and join in with something. The park looks great with so many like minded people. And such good weather. Glad you had such a good time.

  5. Wow, there were so many of you! I wanted to knit in public but was actually flying back home across Europe that day and knitting needles are not something they like at airport security checks :( But the good thing is that it is actually a whole week from 12th to 20th June that is dedicated to knitting in public, not just that one day :) so… there’s still hope for me :)

Leave a Reply

