Broadway Market

About ten days ago, Caroline and I got up early (well, speaking in grad-school terms early, so think in the area of 9 am) to go explore Broadway Market. I fell completely in love! The fact that we were there before the crowds poured in was an extra bonus, because we could stroll about leisurely, chit-chat to stall owners and browse without being elbowed every 10 seconds… This is definitely my new favorite market and I can’t wait to go back! It has all that you could wish of a Saturday morning: nice coffee (looking so good that someone actually stopped us on our way out to check what it was we had ordered), good food (sorry, I was too busy drooling over it to take photos), a band…

…vintage furniture…

…another band…

…odd performers…

…old ladies sitting under umbrellas selling stuff off the floor…

…another band…

…and also vintage clothes, watches turned into necklaces, blank-page notebooks made out of old books… To make it even better, the Market is surrounded by adorable cafes, a Georgian restaurant, and there’s a city farm (where you can pet sheep!) close-by. The Market adjoins a park, which is the perfect place to cool off from a bit too much sun. It’s also a good place for people watching. In the half an hour we sat there, we saw a couple dressed up like the 1920s, and a man on a monocycle who whizzed by looking quite annoyed by all the stares he was getting. He seemed to be saying “What?! It’s just my mode of transportation!”

Finally, my favorite thing about the Market:

If you ask me, plastic bags are evil. I have long fought with shop sales-people when they try to stuff my things into a plastic bag even when I explicitly tell them not to. At my local supermarket back home, I’m known as the lady who never takes the bag (How I found out? I was standing in line one day, thinking how I had never paid with this partiuclar sales-person. Then as my turn came, she started saying “Would you like…” then looked at me and said “Oh, you’re the lady who doesn’t want a bag… Nevermind…”).  One time in the US, I felt like smacking the salesman who, upon being told for the third time I didn’t want a bag, took the bag he was planning to put my stuff in – and threw it in the trash! I always try to have one of my many canvas bags with me when I go grocery shopping. I find it that it’s much easier in the UK, where some supermarkets even give you a discount if you bring your own bag! Now that’s what I’m talking about! So here’s to Broadway Market, and to making all London markets plastic bag free! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

4 thoughts on “Broadway Market

  1. Yippeee for lovely Broadway Market and its bagfreeness! i must go down there some time and check out the yummy coffee and the umbrella ladies…

  2. Yay! I love places that are against plastic bags, too. They’re so wasteful, grrr. In Germany you have to bring your own bag or buy one – I like that system so much better than here in the US, where we’re only just starting to realize that plastic bags are really not cool at all.

    • I wish they’d stop selling plastic bags overall, and just make you buy a slightly more expensive canvas bag if you don’t have your own! I’m sure there are quite cheap canvas bags that can be produced, and I think quite soon people would get used to it. When I was a kid, that was the practice everywhere so it’s not like it’s never been done before. My grandpa used to wash plastic bags and reuse them until they fell apart. That was maybe because they were a novelty then, but I don’t see why we couldn’t go back to the principle. :)

Leave a Reply

