Columbia Road

Sorry for the lack of posts over the weekend, I’ve been out and about constantly! Now that there is no studying to do, and that the panic over writing a 10,000 word dissertation in two months hasn’t kicked in yet ;) I’m staying out of my room as much as possible and trying to go to at least one place I’ve never been to before every day! It’s not such a difficult thing in London… ;) Well, on Sunday I finally made it to the famous Columbia Road flower market, and let me tell you – it is amazing! I was overwhelmed by a Mrs Dalloway feeling of wanting to buy myself enormous bunches of gorgeous flowers… I decided to put it off, though, since I’m moving house in a few days. But I did take loads of digital bunches home with me – take a look!

There is a special kind of giggling that is provoked in me by hearing macho men yell at the top of their voices: “Peonies! Peonies for a fiver!”

London outdoor markets are THE thing, my friends. I am utterly in love with them. There were two bands entertaining again, and this time – this one was my favorite. So simple and sweet. And such good music.

However, if you decide to go to any market, especially on Saturday or Sunday morning to early afternoon, you have to be ready for this. There is no getting around it.

Once wriggling through the masses exhausts you, you can slip away to the sides of the market, where you are bound to be greeted by lovely shop fronts. Of all the markets I’ve seen, the shop fronts on Columbia Rd are the most creative by far!

The photos are not so great – it was difficult with the sun glaring and everyone pushing around me, but you get the idea. Cheerful and colorful. :)

With cutesy signs.

And adorable arrangements.

I also discovered a dream shop with the most adorable wall stickers. Kind of pricey but one day, when I have my own flat, I’ll definitely make the investment!

Look closely at the singing birdies – they go: do – re – mi – fa – so – la – quack! :)

I also found these, for those of you who are going baby-crazy… ;) Don’t you just love the colors and the simplicity?

On my way home, I got a little lost and ended up on Brick Lane market (another famous one!), but there I spent more time browsing than taking photos. I also picked up a very cheap but cute pair of sunglasses, with which I later made silly faces… :)

Have a great week, everyone! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

7 thoughts on “Columbia Road

  1. I love your sunglasses, so fun! I’ve never been to Columbia Road (yes, I am hanging my head in shame – I’ve lived here for 5 years for crying out loud, there is NO excuse!!). Mrs Dalloway moments – ha, brilliant. Love that.
    Ooh, moving – exciting! You’re quite near me (Waterloo) at the moment aren’t you? I was going to see if you fancied meeting up for a knit and chat after my exams are finished in a month or so…? Even if you’re not going to be so local that would still be fun!
    Hope you’re enjoying the sun (it’s too hot for me really so I do always hope everyone else is making the most of it or else I am melting in vain!).

  2. Love the Mrs Dalloway reference :))) Come to think of it, I might read it again this summer.

    As for the dissertation, I’ve just finished mine (49,914 words) and I’m the queen of procrastination and laziness so… With your sense of organization and discipline, you’ll finish yours in no time at all! I’m defending it next Wednesday but it already feels good to be free!

    So, carpe diem in Londinium or gather ye rose buds while ye may, thesis time is still a-flying :) Enjoy your time off but bring your camera with you so that you can give us more posts like this :)

    • Oh wow, good luck with defending your dissertation! I’ve always managed to avoid it, in high school I had straight As so didn’t have to defend my dissertation, in my undergrad my department was one of the few where you didn’t have to defend it because they had too many students, and my MSc doesn’t require defending it either… :)

  3. huh, kakav post ! :)
    prelep ! i eto, kazu da u Londonu stalno treba nositi kisobran, je li…. a ono vi u bretelama, a mi u dzemperima ….. evo i sad kisa ponovo pada.
    A i treba da si napolje, a ne unutra da pises blog !
    Tako je lep market, da stvarno par papira nece zameriti :)

Leave a Reply

