a pattern, a swatch, a decision

One big project finished, and I’m feeling like I’m ready to tackle another one. I’ve never achieved a finished adult garment before, but today I made a decision to change that. If I could finish this Monster below, surely I can finish one little cardi for myself! Especially if I have the perfect yarn already in my stash (I had been saving it for the right project).

Well, remember how I was talking about cardis for the summer? I chose one from that list! The Minimalist Cardigan. I made a full size swatch yesterday, which was an exception: I usually only do about ten rows, I’m more concerned about getting the correct number of stitches than the correct number of rows. I was so proud when I finished this one and realized it matched both the number of stitches and the number of rows perfectly!

Now how often do you get that? :) So as soon as I finished measuring my swatch I went straight online and bought and printed the pattern. I plan to cast on this evening. 

Of course, there had to be a slight glitch. The difference in bust measurement between sizes provided in the pattern is on average 4 inches. Of course, when I measured my bust, it fell exactly in the middle between two sizes (two inches either way), and I don’t know which way to go. The pattern doesn’t mention anything in the sense of negative or positive ease, so no clues there. I’ll try to scour people’s notes on Ravelry to see if anyone has recommendations. I don’t think it will be too much of an issue, in the end, since it’s an open-front cardi without buttons, but I do want to get the sleeves right…

In the meantime, the baby cardi has been ripped and I’m making another swatch. It was coming out way too big. I’m contemplating changing that project completely, I’m not sure I can handle so much purling right now :( so it’s good that I’ll at least have one good project going as I struggle with that one… :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

12 thoughts on “a pattern, a swatch, a decision

  1. You should be able to adapt the pattern so you can do half the difference in numbers of stitches for the chest measurement (I mean half way between the two sizes) – that way it’ll fit perfectly. If there is armhole shaping, that would be a bit more tricky. Let me know if you want me to take a look at the pattern, I should be able to point you in the right direction.

    • Thanks for your help! Someone else told me this yarn tends to bloom a lot when it gets washed, so I went with the smaller size. At worst, I’ll get a snug-fitting cardi, so it shouldn’t be a problem :) As you said, the armhole shaping and other such details could be more difficult to adapt, and I’m just not feeling up to it at the moment…

  2. ooh, the minimalist!! I’ve been wanting to make that for ages, it just always seems to be pushed aside for some reason. Yours is going to be amazing, I’m sure! As for the sizing issue, I’d adjust your stitches. number of stitches between smaller size and larger size, and then divide that number by 2. you’ll have your proper number. Eg:
    pattern sized for 32,36,40 bust:
    “cast on 75 (100, 125) stitches for left front” so there are 25 stitches between the sizes. So if you were a 34 bust, you’d cast on 87 or 88 stitches for the left front (as an example).

    • Yeah, it makes sense like that! But then it gets to decreases and increases and I get all confused! :D See comment above for what I decided to do (and you can be sure that you’ll be hearing how it works out ;)))

  3. Like your choice but then, all of them were gorgeous. Looking forward to some progress shots.

    Just for the record, I’ve never got the row count right even when my stitch count was spot-on.

    Sorry about the baby cardi – I’m not a big fan of pink but I loved that colour.

    • Oh, there’ll definitely be something in that color, I love it too! (Also not a big pink lover, though you wouldn’t really tell, from some of the things I’ve knit!)

      As for the adult cardi, I still want to make all of those, but this one seemed like the best to start with!

  4. Pingback: Page not found « fridica

  5. Pingback: unravelling and debating « fridica

Leave a Reply

