heaven

Someone asked for in-progress photos from the project I wrote about starting yesterday. Little did I know that I would have some progress to show today already!

This shows about half of what I have (if you look closely, you’ll see it’s folded over) – a good chunk of the back. I just couldn’t stop! As you know, by now I’m pretty used to working in k1p1 for long stretches, so getting into that rhythm wasn’t an issue at all! And I’ve found I don’t mind purling, when it’s combined with knitting. What I really dislike is just endless rows of purling only. That tires me out.

But the reason why I’ve made this much progress in one evening is something else, I think. The needles. When I had just moved to London, and Ysolda (who is having a 25% off sale today only!) had just published her Snapdragon Tam pattern, I was dying to make it asap! I bought a wonderful yarn, but I couldn’t get the correct gauge with the needles I had – everything indicated that I needed a 4.5mm needle. But that seemed to be sold out at whatever store I went to. Finally I found Loop, where the lovely shop assistant spent quite a bit of time digging through their needle stash to find me the right size. The needle she found was kind of short, and I wasn’t sure if the cable length would be enough for a hat knit in the round, but she worked with me and was really nice and knowledgeable.

The needle was a Hiya-Hiya. I had never tried them before and was a little suspicious, but she recommended it warmly and I decided to trust her. I am so thrilled now that I did! This needle is a joy to work with, it’s very light, the cable is nice and flexible, the joint between the needle and cable is not at all noticeable, the needle is slippery enough to let you knit fast yet sticky enough to not make yarn fall off the needle on its own. And let me say it again – it’s very light. I didn’t think this would mean much, I mean how much does a needle weigh anyway, but I can really feel the difference when I’m using it!

I have also used Addi needles since, but I wasn’t as thrilled with them. That doesn’t mean I disliked them, I think they are very high quality and if you want a reliably good needle, they are highly recommended. But the Hiya-Hiya gives me that extra thrill! Let me say that this could also be biased by needle size. The only Hiya-Hiya I have is 4.5mm, and that is arguably one of the most comfortable needle sizes generally. But I still think I’m onto something here and I’ll definitely be buying more Hiyas in the future!

Oh yeah, and Hiyas combined with this amazing blend of wool and acrylic just takes me straight to heaven! I think this cardi might be knit up sooner than any of us expected! ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

10 thoughts on “heaven

  1. I meni su se dopale HIya Hiya, iako sam u početku bila jako ljuta, ne radi igala, već radi pogrešne isporuke. Moja namjera je kupiti ih u svim veličinama, otkako sam ih ipak isprobala i vidjela kako je s njima raditi. Na žalost nisu jako dostupne u europskim trgovinama :-(
    Svakako mislim nabaviti i metalne Chiaoo Goo, njihove bambus igle su čista poezija u kategoriji drvenih igala (uz idealni odnos kvaliteta-cijena), a sve više povoljnih kritika slušam i za njihove metalne igle. Ako negdje na njih naletiš svakako kupi, karakteristične su po crvenom kablu.

  2. That’s funny…I just blogged yesterday about a dream project I’m working on and it is also my first time using Hiya Hiya needles. I thought it was the yarn and pattern, but dang, maybe it is the needles after all! I’m with you…definitely buying more of these needles. Happy knitting!

    • I was going to work on it a lot more yesterday at work, after everyone left (and I’m left on my own waiting for the phone to ring), but then my big boss decided to stay at work until 8pm! I’m hoping today everyone will leave on time so I can indulge in my knitting-at-the-office fantasy ;)

    • Oh that’s fantastic, thank you for the link! What an amazing post! I knit Continental, and while I’ve been told it’s quicker than English, I still dislike purling in long stretches. I’ll have to study the technicalities of the Finnish technique she describes, to see if that would make it easier. Otherwise I was actually considering trying to do my knit rows Continental style and my purl rows English style :)

      Thank you again!

  3. It makes me feel so much better to hear you say you don’t love Addis- I don’t like mine at all! I find they aren’t shaped as well as I would like, and the yarn doesn’t move as smoothly over the needle part as I would like. Your Minimalist is looking great so far!!

    • Thank you! :) I don’t think you should worry about other people liking Addis. It’s just a tool, trust your hands above all :) Have you tried Hiyas?

Leave a Reply

