burrito for breakfast

Today, I had a burrito and coke for breakfast. It’s not cause I’ve gone completely bonkers, but because it’s moving day and I only managed to get ten minutes for breakfast at 3 pm. From tomorrow night, I’m sleeping in a new bed under a new roof. But not before I lug over the enormous amount of things I’ve managed to accumulate in the last 9 months and break my back doing it. I’m only moving several kilometers down the road, but it has been quite difficult logistically and not to mention physically. I won’t moan too much, because I am utterly in love with my new neighborhood from the few glimpses I’ve had of it! I am looking forward to getting to know it and you can be sure you’ll be getting reports of the interesting bits! :)

For today, I have a small blogging tip to share. When I mentioned in my giveaway post that Google Reader had told me that I had over 40 subscribers, several people were surprized by the possibility of getting this piece of information from Google Reader. So here’s how you get it:

1. Subscribe to your own blog in Google Reader.

2. Click on it to see recent posts. You’ll see this little button in the tophand right corner that says “show details”.

You can click on the image to see it larger – I circled the “show details” button.

3. Click on the “show details” button. You should get something looking like this:

Again, if you click on the image you’ll see it larger. So, on this screen, if you deduct 1 from the number of subscribers (because you are 1 of your subscribers), you get the information I was referring to. You’ll also notice that there’s a “hide details” button, so you don’t have to look at this all the time.

As far as I understand it, though, this is only the number of people who subscribe to your blog via Google Reader, so it is not your total number of subscribers (people subscribe in different ways :). You can also have a little fun looking at subscription numbers for other blogs you like! :)

I hope this clarifies things! :) I’ve been told that the best tool to use with blogs is Google Analytics, but since I don’t really need serious analysis of my traffic at the moment, I’m sticking with these simple tools. :)

Have a lovely weekend, everyone, and keep your fingers crossed for my move to be as painless as possible… :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

9 thoughts on “burrito for breakfast

  1. Oooh thanks for the info on google reader subscribers :) off to check mine! And hope your move goes ok, i just had to do mine and was ever so slightly horrific.

  2. Cool tip on Google Reader. Thanks!

    Good luck on the move… we’ll be moving in a little over a week so I’ll be in your shoes soon. Maybe even with a burrito for breakfast! ;)

  3. Happy moving! Hope all goes well. Enjoy your new neighbourhood – always so fun to explore and find all the potential new favourite places.

Leave a Reply

