the sound of knitting

I’m alive! :) It just dawned on me that you might be thinking my move ended fatally, since I’ve been quiet much longer than is normal for me… :) But no worries, I’m all good, it’s just that there’s been a lot going on… Lots of moving activity, going away parties, football, birthdays, walks in the city, dinners, hanging out. It’s all been wonderful, but it also left me craving a little bit of being in one place and with one person (me!).

And there’s no better way to regain that sense of calm and quiet than with knitting. :) I’ve been sneaking away with my Minimalist every chance I get… And this morning, as I did a little bit of knitting before delving into some more serious business, it struck me that knitting can be pleasing to a completely unexpected sense – that of hearing.

Yes, we’re all used to enjoying knitting primarily tactile-y (see photo) and visually, sometimes even the sense of smell comes in (c’mon, don’t be shy, you know you’ve sniffed the occasional hank of yarn!), but listening to knitting – I never really thought about that before. These needles I’m using now produce such a perfect clickety-clack, quiet enough to not bother someone napping in the room, yet loud enough to create a pleasant rhythmical cue for me. I’d say the sound is at least half the reason why I’m enjoying knitting this so much.

Do you know the feeling? Or do you think I’m crazy? I’d love to hear about your experiences with the sound of knitting…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

19 thoughts on “the sound of knitting

  1. I love hearing the slide and click of my dpns. Especially the size 6 one’s I had to get recently to complete Ysolda’s Nathaniel. The rhythmic clicking was so soothing that I often forgot my place in the pattern :)

    • Oh, I know, I also have one set of DPNs that make the perfect clicking! They are my second favorite after these!

      p.s. So glad to hear I’m not alone in this! :)

  2. I know what you mean, especially if I’m knitting on dpns- I find they have a lot more auditory qualities, since there are more needles for the other to brush up against!

  3. Oh, I know what you’re talking about. I have a pair of dpn’s that produce exactly that sound. And I jump at every chance to use them :) And I do sniff yarn, too :)

  4. I love the clicking noise my needles make. Sometimes I feel better about the knitting I’m doing if I hear the sound, its like I’m doing it correctly.

    • That’s a great observation, I think it reassures me as well! I wouldn’t have thought of describing it like that, but I think you’re absolutely right now that I’ve read it!

  5. Yes the sound is very comforting, my mother use to knit when I was little and the sound was so peaceful.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy summer time

  6. You’re not crazy! Sometimes I close my eyes and listen to the gentle click of Addis while absorbing the feel of the motion. So very relaxing!

  7. Pingback: rip « fridica

Leave a Reply

