unravelling and debating

Debating more unravelling, that is. I haven’t had much time to devote to knitting in the last few days, though I stuff my Minimalist-in-Progress into my bag everywhere I go, just in case a brief window of opportunity opens up. Last night I got an unexpected night off so I settled into my armchair, put my knitting in my lap and browsed the BBC iPlayer for some good TV to accompany my knitting, as it really requires no thinking at this point. They had Casanova with Heath Ledger, so I thought: ” just the perfect kind of senseless easy movie I need!”

Well, as it turns out, even senseless movies can distract! As I was watching it, I got to the shaping of the armholes on the back, and misunderstood the pattern – it sure seemed odd that I would be doing the final two rows of decreases on one side only, but with the movie making noise in the background (and Heath drawing my eyes away from the pattern ;), I decided not to ponder on it to much and assumed it was some secret ingredient of sweater knitting that I had not discovered yet and that made sense in some way which I didn’t understand. Only after I finished the decreases and counted my stitches did I realize that I had two extra stitches. Then I read the pattern carefully and realized it had called for decreases on both sides of the needle on right side rows. Yeah, go figure. Let’s just blame Heath for this outburst of daftness I exhibited.

Luckily, I just have two rows to unravel, though stitch-by-stitch even that is annoying. It’s also reminding me of a fact which I have been trying to supress for a while – that the back is already coming out 2.5cm wider than it was supposed to (despite my spot-on swatch!), and that I have been told that this yarn expands a lot in blocking. The current extra 2.5cm should be ok since I had chosen to go for the smaller size (remember my in-between-sizes dilemma), but if it expands a lot more in blocking, I’ll be in trouble.

Nonetheless, for now I’m ploughing on as it is, and we’ll see how it goes. The ripping debate is on the NO side at the moment. But tell me one thing – why on earth does a sweater knit 95% in seed stitch call for a swatch in stockinette? I feel like my dilemma may have been alleviated had the pattern given instructions for swatching in seed…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

10 thoughts on “unravelling and debating

  1. Oh I’m always going that. I do the majority of my knitting in front of the screen and a particularly engaging episode of a TV show will usually end up with me making mistakes. I don’t know why I don’t just put the knitting down when the plot starts getting interesting :)

  2. They always specify stockinette, don’t they! It doesn’t make much sense but I suppose that way you can compare what your gauge is in contrast to the person who wrote the instructions no matter the actual pattern.
    When I use a pattern for inspiration but adapt it heavily, then I go by a swatch in the actual stitch pattern, to make sure that it will fit hips and bust. The rest I decide on by trying the garment on while it’s still in progress. That seems to work okay. Good luck!

    • Unfortunately, this garment is knit in pieces so I won’t be able to try it out until it’s nearly done…
      I think it would make sense to do the swatch in the stitch pattern sometimes, I can imagine that it’s very easy that two people who get identical gauges when doing stockinette get very different gauges when doing k2p2 – it depends on how you do your purls etc. I have seen some patterns that call for a swatch in the stitch pattern used, and I think that can be super-useful.

  3. I am working on a really easy pattern at the moment so that I could watch the world cup with my OH. It is a stripey jumper in plain stockinette. So far I have done the front twice, the back twice and the sleeve twice because I have got them all wrong. How ridiculous. It is the easiest pattern I have ever done but I still keep getting it wrong. Lack of concentration I think. I can’t wait to finish it. It seems to be going on forever. I love the minimalist pattern.

  4. Ha, I know exactly what you mean about when you’re following a pattern thinking ‘ooh, this must be a very clever method, i can’t imagine how this would produce something like in the picture – how clever!’…and then sure enough, it does indeed look nothing like in the picture, because i’d got it wrong. Oops. I think I just get so used to knitting as I watch, I feel like I’m only doing half an activity if I try and *just* watch a movie. Multi-tasking has its downside though!

  5. I’m also knitting the Minimalist Cardigan. You know what’s really strange? The pattern as it originally appears in IK Fall 2007 has the gauge in moss st, namely 20 sts and 28 rows = 4″ in moss st after blocking. I wonder if the stockinette gauge in the downloadable pattern is the same.

    • I just went to check my downloadable pattern and I owe everyone, including the designer, a huge apology. The gauge DOES say IN MOSS st. I am just an idiot who completely overlooked it. Boah, I really feel stupid now :( I deserve that cardigan to be too big on me!

Leave a Reply

