new lair

I love my new room! It’s tiny but super-functional and probably the cosiest room in the world! It’s sad I won’t be staying here for too long, but I will definitely enjoy it to the max while I’m here. I wanted to share a few snaps with you, especially those relevant to my crafty activities. :)

Number 1: BIG window. Which OPENS. And faces a side of the world which provides LIGHT. Ok, you may be wondering why on earth I’m getting excited about windows that open, but that’s because you don’t know that I spent the last 9 months in a room where the window could only be opened a tiny bit (some stupid safety regulations) and not being able to enjoy fresh air properly. So this is a big win! And I’ve always wanted a desk facing the window! :)

The window lights my room beautifully, which you can’t really tell in this photo because I don’t know how to make my camera deal with too much light without making things appear dark, but yes, there is almost TOO MUCH light. Yay! :)

Number 2: Comfy bed. With a proper head rest, and a plushy duvet which I turn into a back-rest over the day, so I can sink into its softness and get to knitting under my Van Gogh, which I’m keeping for a friend who’s travelling at the moment. Well, what better way to keep it straight than on the wall? ;)

Number 3: Well, it’s rather self-explanatory, isn’t it? I don’t go anywhere without these. My Dad helped me make a very practical case to keep them in when I travel (hm, perhaps I’ll do a post about it soon!), so I can always take them with me, and when I got to London I bought them this cute jar, which is originally intended for kitchen utensils, but I think I’m allowed to keep them in it, cause if you think about it – they’re my utensils.

Number 4: The perfect-size shelf for my books. There’s a few guidebooks and a few novels here, and I hope to use most of them this summer (hehe), though I’m definitely not going to the Middle East (for now!). Perhaps my modest collection can give you some inspiration for your summer reading? I have a much bigger one at home, I’ve tried to limit my book-buying here cause I know I won’t be able to take them home with me (oh, plane luggage limits, why oh why do you exist?)…

I hope you like my little place! I’ve been here only a week and it already feels more like home than my last residence ever did! I’ve also got wonderful new flatmates who have the habit of making the most splendid quiches. What more could I wish for? :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

10 thoughts on “new lair

  1. I’m reading your blog for some time now, and I really wonder where do you live (in student’s building or you rent a room in someones apartment) and why don’t you stay in one place little longer (cause you didn’t like that place too much, or cause you are in student’s building and you had to move cause it is the end of semester )? Am asking this , cause those rooms looks nice and clean, and you live alone in them. It is quite different in my country.

    • It’s a student residence! :) I had to move because of the end of term, and this is my place for the summer. After that, I’m no longer a student so they’ll kick me out ;)
      I go to a very expensive uni (thank you, Scholarship) so the residences are quite nice as well :)

  2. Ooh, I understand your excitement about having a window that opens – my room in London was on the ground floor and had bars on the window, so it only opened an inch or so! :(

  3. I know what you mean about the windows. My daughter stays in halls at uni and the windows never open more than about six inches. When she comes home she always throws open the window and leaves it like that, weather permitting. The rooms are always quite small too but cosy. How lovely to have a desk by the window.

  4. My windows don’t open properly for structural reasons (i’ve got extra double glazing on the inside which they won’t swing past) and it drives me NUTS. I dream of the day when a gale can blow through and scatter all my belongings about the place, heh.
    I’ve got a Milan Kundera novel (The book of laughter & forgetting) waiting to be read too. I loved Chesil Beach & the Time Traveller’s Wife.
    Your new lair looks lovely and cosy, thanks for showing us!

  5. What a cozy little room! I like the bed corner most. (Can you tell I’m still sleepy?) :))) As for the books and luggage limits, you can always send books ahead of you via mail. I know a friend of mine did this when she was staying in Norway to do some research. There was no way she could carry it all back with her anyway so she just mailed it to her family. I know you are sceptical about postal services ;) but this may be a good idea.

  6. I definitely get your excitement – sometimes a new place just “clicks” and you feel so comfortable and at home. I’m glad you found that here, at least for a while! :)

Leave a Reply

