everyday art (Paris)

It’s time I finally start showing you my impressions of Paris, don’t you think? :) Well, unfortunately, my favorite impression is not conveyable in words or photos – it is taste. The food. My friends, the food! Yeah, I sound kind of dumb, I mean French cuisine is obviously world-renowned, but I never quite understood what the whole fuss was about. Now, I know. It made me want to be hungry ten times a day so I could try it all, and then have it again as well. We had croissants, crepes, eclairs, baguette sandwiches, salads with goat cheese, onion soup, amazing fish, unimaginable desserts… Oooh, I better stop, it makes me want to go back immediately! Let’s better go on to my second favorite thing…

That was art. Not the art that you see hanging in the world famous museums (even though I loved that as well), but the way Parisians incorporate art into their everyday.

To embelish…

To make a statement…

To doodle…

To advertise…

It’s all over the place, and yet so unimposing. I loved the way it would catch my eye from some corner of the street or wall, and make me wonder about the story behind it…

Pretty cool, don’t you think? :) I’m leaving my favorite for last – I just love its simplicity and intrigue… My Grandpa used to make little mosaics out of ceramic tiles on his house and I loved seeing that he wasn’t the only one!

I can’t remember the locations of most of these, but this last one was in Montmartre, if you ever decide to go looking… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

5 thoughts on “everyday art (Paris)

  1. Great pictures – you have an eye for details! And so often the details make the special feeling/aura of the city… (though I personally liked Rome more than Paris :)))

  2. So amazing!! I love well-done street art, it really makes me feel like people are involved (albeit in an odd way) in their community.

Leave a Reply

