a conceptual gift

I confess, since the time I became relatively confident about my knitting abilities, I have used them on several occasions to cop out of situations where a last-minute birthday gift was needed! I’m talking about the “oh my, the party’s in three hours and I have no gift” situations. This doesn’t mean I don’t care about the person, it just means, as I noted a few days ago, that I am a master at postponing things. So how did I use knitting as a cop-out? By creating “gift-certificates” for future knitted items.

But after I did it the first time, I realized it actually made people happy (well, the right sort of people). They enjoyed telling me their yarn preferences and waiting for the item to be made especially for them. So it made me want to do this sort of gift even when I wasn’t in a time crunch. That’s what I did for Caroline’s birthday. Apart from the promise of a knitted item, she also got several other conceptual gifts, that she gets to activate when she wants. I’m at her disposition! ;)

In the meantime, however, I started the promised item two days ago.

Let’s see if this time it comes out looking a bit less like duck feet and a bit more like human socks… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

10 thoughts on “a conceptual gift

  1. Wow, for a moment I thought you were going to say you had found a gift you could KNIT in the three hours before a party. But this is much better! I really like the idea of involving the recipient in yarn choices, etc. Who knows, that way you might even recruit someone else to knitting!

  2. I like the idea but I think I’d live in fear that the recipient was going to request black socks and I’d have to knit miles of tiny black stitches…

    oh wait, what’s that you’re knitting?

    You’re a very good friend! Well, a better one that I would be :)

    • Hahaha, noooo, I’m not that good of a friend – you know me and black! They’re green, but the picture came out so shoddy that I turned it into black&white :) When I say I let them choose yarn, I mean I give them bits of 6 or 7 yarns I have in my stash and then let them choose which one they like best. Works out great for both parties :)

  3. I loooooooooove the idea of knitted gift certificates! No more wondering if it’s something the person will actually like or appreciate after you spend hours on something. Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

