roll, baby, roll

Yesterday I had one of those everything-goes-wrong days. To be honest, the day gave me some clues about its plans for me pretty early on, when, having just arrived to work, I spilt coffee all over myself and my chair. And so it began. Luckily, this little thing was close enough to provide the much-needed respite here and there throughout the day (and far away enough to avoid getting a coffee makeover!).

It’s the right front of the Minimalist. Look at that texture, I love it! Obviously the front is progressing quite fast, since there are much fewer stitches than in the back. It’s kind of like knitting a scarf (there is very little shaping involved) yet knowing it will become part of a cardigan some day. :) I have to admit, the width of the front looks frighteningly tiny in comparison to the back – I guess I’ll just never know if any part of this cardi is coming out right until it’s finished!

Oh yes, and the edge rolls.

When I started the Minimalist, I came upon this discussion of the rolling edge. I must admit I was one  of the people who had not noticed this feature of the design at all, from the photos I kind of thought that the stockinette edge is knit up double width and then folded over and sewn, so that it would be kind of double stockinette. I might try doing that on some other occasion, but for now, I’m rolling with the pattern (heeheehee).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

4 thoughts on “roll, baby, roll

  1. The texture is beautiful. The yarn colour really shows off the pattern detail. I struggled to see the rolling on the original pattern pictures so cannot tell whether it is an attractive feature or not. I look forward to seeing yours.

  2. You are flying on that thing! Your progress is really making me want to dig mine out of the UFO pile and get back to it… eek… accountability…

    It looks gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

